Faces

I don’t really take photographs of people unless I am a long way away, it feels intrusive to me, though I do admire other photographers’ street photography. Faces are so fascinating.

I needed to be more to the right to get this face full-on, but then the tree got in the way!

face
The Rocks area in Sydney is a very interesting area to explore on foot. There are a lot of little cobblestone streets and alleyways in The Rocks and a lot of references to the past era around, in information panels, plaques and art. Each helps explain the site’s history and evoke the past. At the opposite end of The Nurse’s Walk to Suez Canal, the route ends at Globe Street, where you’ll find some amazing street art by contemporary artist Vhils on the stairs up to Harrington Street. He has painted a portrait of Sydney environmental activist, Jack Mundey, who worked to preserve some of Sydney’s built environments too, like Victoria St, Potts Point and other areas in the inner city.

Published by

Heyjude

I have lived in the UK for most of my life, but when young I definitely had wanderlust and even ended up living in South Africa for several years which was a wonderful experience. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

40 thoughts on “Faces”

  1. I’m ashamed! You know my country better than I do. It’s years (like 40) since I wandered around the Rocks, although I did stay in a YHA there a few years ago when I was in Sydney for a concert.

Comments are closed.