Today Was A Good Day

Well it was except for being attacked by a mad rabbit…
…and then finding a dead rat only six inches from my bare foot when taking in the washing in the dark. Day one. Another nine to go.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Alice in Wonderland is an activity trail for youngsters in the RHS garden at Wisley. Inspired by the Lewis Carroll novel first published 150 years ago, the Top Terrace takes you on a journey into Wonderland. At one end is the Queen of Heart’s geometric red and white garden, mushroom sculptures pop up through the bedding and the White Rabbit directs you towards dream-like Wonderland. I had a great time discovering the ‘Alice’ sculptures on one of the hottest days this year!

The Queen of Hearts
The Queen of Hearts

Today was a good day

WPC asks you to create a slideshow using Mesh. As someone who doesn’t use APPS or indeed have a smart phone and who is paranoid about sharing too much data with anyone or anything in the public sphere, I have used the slideshow that comes with WP. Suits me fine and a change from my usual galleries.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

67 thoughts on “Today Was A Good Day”

    1. I thought the grin looked more like a leer, quite disconcerting. The Alice sculpture is lovely though trying to photograph her was a challenge as hordes of children kept clambering over her! One child was even kicking a £3500 sculpture with glass inserts which was close by and his parents never blinked an eye!

      1. Parents today don’t seem to have a clue. I rarely go to places where I know there will be lots of children, if I can avoid them.
        The cat’s grin is a bit of a leer, I agree. Perhaps that was intentional, by the original illustrator?

        1. Well Carroll was a very strange man. Not sure who the illustrator was. I always found the Alice novels a bit creepy to be honest.

  1. Lol, I had such a laugh at your intro. Sounds like the day I had on Thursday. I have my foot in plaster at the moment and was lying with my foot elevated (as one does) when the Usain Bolt of the arachnid world appeared on the ceiling. Turned out to be a jumping spider. Let’s just say it did not end well for him. Gorgeous snaps, those keys in particular.

    1. Somehow I missed the rabbit. Maybe I’ll try for another visit before the end of the week. Wisley is always coming up with different events to attract parents and children. Far too many buggies and young children there for my liking. Also a sculpture trail and a fuchsia event. Never found the fuchsias either.

    1. The visit to the garden was good, the rabbit and the rat not so… 😀
      Yesterday didn’t fare well either as I twisted my ankle so now I’m hobbling around. Not the best look. And not good for catching rebel rabbits either!

  2. The Cheshire cat looks rather too ratty for my liking! That’s a great slide show, especially like the keys photo. And the featured image – detail from the queens dress? fabulous!

  3. I’ve had a couple of goes with mesh and failed, now I can’t work out how to delete it from my i phone, I’ll stick with wordpress or pixlr for my collages!

  4. It’s good to hear you got past the mad rabbit and the dead rat so bravely. This garden looks like a fun place to visit. This week is Book Week and we have a book character dress up day at school. My Teacher Aide and I are going as Tweedledum and Tweedledee. I volunteered to go as Dum!

    1. I remember doing Alice in Wonderland at school in the choir. There was an amazing ’round canon’ song that was about Tweedledee and Tweedledum. Have a good day!

  5. Youngsters? Quite wasted on sprogs, Jude! 🙂 The Hatter looks so much like Johnny Depp! Your slide show works really well in this scenario. You’re having far too much fun for somebody who’s supposed to be pet-sitting! Or were you counting the dormouse in the care package? Love the pics 🙂

    1. Don’t speak to me about pets! I thought looking after the grandchildren last year was hard work, but at least they could feed themselves 🙂

      Actually apart from the rabbit with personality issues it’s not too bad, once feeding /cleaning duties are done the day is mine! BUT I do hope that Indy (the cat) doesn’t catch any more rats (or mice). Urghhh…

        1. Ah, but you deal with real pets. BIG ones! I’m just worried that Peanut won’t return to the hutch and then the fox will get him. Imagine explaining that to the grandchildren. I’d be forever the ‘Rabbit Killer’.

  6. What a cool place to visit!
    Good idea to use a slideshow in place of Mesh. I was considering the same thing, as I don’t have a smartphone either — and I’ve seen so many dreadful iphone photos that I would have to be desperate to use it as a camera.

    1. I don’t know why they are promoting Mesh. Is it a WP APP or something? The slideshow or even the gallery works perfectly OK, but maybe not on a phone? I rarely use my phone (texts and occasional calls or as an alarm clock!). I’d rather put my money into a proper camera.

    1. Adults mostly I guess, I bet not many children read the classics any more, and besides most of these were tots. But they loved clambering all over Alice!

  7. It looks like a lot of fun. It’s a classic book. Wonderland was a place I loved roaming about in as a child, although sometimes I feel I never really left.

  8. Slide show works really well Jude I agree about mesh I just skimmed straight by when they said it was an app…
    Lovely walk into wonderland. There’s a similar themed garden in the Hunter Valley that I hope to visit again later this year. Your pet sitting sounds “fun”!!!

    1. Mmm… not sure I like your definition of ‘fun’ PP 😉
      Do you ever have to look after rabbits in your house-sitting duties? I suspect rabbits, like cats, are not popular in Australia.

      I hope you get to the Hunter Valley.

    1. It is forever changing Elaine. I was very pleasantly surprised by what I saw on Friday. Must try and go back at the end of the week to see the rest!

        1. It’s a big place though so fairly easy to avoid the kids as most mums head for the play area and the glasshouse / fruit mound. Not so many along the long borders or the wild garden as they aren’t so buggy friendly. Even out of school holidays it is a major attraction for child-minders!

  9. What fantastic sculptures, Jude. Loved your slideshow, although it did bring back memories of my childhood nightmare which occurred after reading ‘Alice Through The Looking Glass’. 😯 At least you weren’t attacked by the Mad Hatter, and a dead rat is 100% better than the other kind. 🙂

  10. I love the queen, and it looks as if you might too: she even features in that glorious header. It was worth waiting for – the slide show refused to work on iPad although I had whatever I needed enabled. Alice looking at the leering Cheshire cat is a great shot.

    1. The Alice shot was so difficult, I could only just get both of them in frame without something else getting in the way (not to mention all the someones!). Yes, I did like the queen, she was splendid among the roses 🙂

  11. Well, I am reading your posts backwards, so I see I am well behind with your news here Jude! Mad rabbits, Mad Hatters, dead rats? Yikes!! 😮 Lovely slideshow and what a gorgeous day, hot, hot hot. I don’t know what Mesh is…WP slideshows are great, love them 🙂

  12. You have done Wisley and the Alice trail proud Jude, I knew you would! (I had to wait to get back on my old laptop to view your slide show – it wouldn’t show up on my ipad). You certainly found more of the characters than me – and were lucky with the sunshine. Hope your pet sitting is going well…

    1. I wonder why WP slideahows don’t show on ipads? Perhaps that is why they are promoting the Mesh App. I didn’t find the white rabbit though 😦

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

