Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Scenes

In a post created specifically for this challenge, share a photo that brings a street to life.

Document the movement (or stillness) of a street: tell a story with your snapshot, capture a scene that reveals a bit about a place, or simply show us where you live β€” or a path you often take.

~Β Cheri

We are going to take a gentle stroll along the bank of the RiverΒ Ljubljanica in Ljubljana, Slovenia on a lovely hot summer’s day. From being a former dull, grey town in a communist country, Ljubljana is now a hip Β small capital city with a vibrantΒ cafΓ© culture and beautiful Viennese Secessionist Architecture.

In the Market
In the Market
market 2
Market Stalls
along the Ljubljanica
along the Ljubljanica
Love Locks
Love Locks
CafΓ© Culture
CafΓ© Culture
CafΓ© Culture
CafΓ© Culture

If you would like to see what others have come up with for this challenge then go to the Daily Post @ WordPressΒ Weekly Photo ChallengeΒ 

Read my previous posts on Ljubljana: Here and here.

Published by

Heyjude

I have lived in the UK for most of my life, but when young I definitely had wanderlust and even ended up living in South Africa for several years which was a wonderful experience. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

25 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Street Scenes”

  1. Looks like a great place to visit Jude. I have never been to that region, but on the strength of those photos, I feel that I would really like to see it.
    Regards as always, Pete.

    1. It’s a lovely place and easy to get to. We flew from Stansted with Easy Jet I think, airport not far from the city or Lake Bled (where we stayed). I’d like to return.

    1. Yes, it’s a very pretty city with some wonderful architecture. I’d like to go back and take more photos! We only had the day there.

    1. A nice place to go with the girls for a few days Mrs C. And close to two lovely lakes, and mountains if you fancy ski-ing!

        1. Well summer then, or maybe a Christmas market. I fancy visiting then and seeing the area in snow, must be magical.

    1. Bohinj – doesn’t slip of the tongue quite so easily does it!
      Shall have to make another visit to the region, I hear this lake is also very picturesque.

        1. It’s the sunshine that does it, when I see the sun I get the urge to travel. The rest of the time I just want to hibernate πŸ™„

  2. Lovely photos for the Street challenge Jude. We visited Croatia a few years ago which is the closest I’ve been to Ljubljana and these reminded me of it very much. Interesting love locks!! Looks beautiful here.xx

    1. Croatia is lovely too (decades since I was there though). I must look up these weird figures, there is a street with a rill in the middle filled with these characters and I am sure it has a meaning. Quite why people put padlocks on them I have no idea when there is a perfectly good bridge nearby!

    2. Apparently the rill is called “Faces” an art installation of 700 different bronze faces along Locksmith Street created by Jakov Brdar and I believe these interesting little beasties are also by him on Butchers’ Bridge (Mesarski most)

  3. Ahh…so that’s what it all means! Thanks for looking it up and explaining it. They are very peculiar aren’t they? I’ve not seen anything quite like them before!!!

Comments are closed.