Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned

 The weekly photo challenge from WordPress asks us to find something to illustrate Abandoned. Cheri says “You can go literal, as I have, and share a photo of ruins, a desolate place, or your idea of a wasteland. Or you can interpret it in other ways, from images of overlooked things to forgotten people.”

 An arty effect – click to enlarge the image for clarity.dodge ink

If you would like to see what others have come up with for this challenge then go to the Daily Post @ WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge 

Published by

Heyjude

I have lived in the UK for most of my life, but when young I definitely had wanderlust and even ended up living in South Africa for several years which was a wonderful experience. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

16 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Abandoned”

    1. I loved it, but no idea what I did to it – some kind of ink effect I think but it isn’t the same in my latest version of the software. Anyway, glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  1. Because you mentioned (elsewhere) liking lichens, your photograph makes me wonder if you’ve ever found lichens growing on a surface like that of this abandoned truck. I imagine the textures and colors of the peeling paint would go wonderfully well with those of an expanse of lichen.

    1. We get lichens growing on old stone walls over here – all sorts of different shapes and colours, but this picture is from a beach in Canada where this block of painted stone/iron was washed up. I liked the colours of the moss and lichens and the peeling paint, hope you do too 🙂

      Old

      1. Yes, those are indeed intriguing colors, shapes, and textures. I wonder to what extent Abstract Expressionist painters took their inspiration from objects like this one.

    1. Glad you like it Dawn. It was an ink effect in an old version of Photoshop Elements, but I may have also added watercolour to it first. It does work rather well with all the rust and dents in the car. Thanks 🙂

  2. Very effective! I like this.
    Another commenter (Steve) asked if you’d ever found lichens growing on something like a truck, which reminded me of the lovely green moss that flourished on the rubber seal around a window on a friend’s car. Yes, it was a rather old car!

    1. I get that growing on the rubber seals on MY car – and she isn’t old!! But it has been very damp here…

      1. It’s definiately Happy – like a relaxed old man or lady, sitting on a sunny verandah, gently smoking a pipe or knitting… happy with themselves, and with the world. e 🙂

Comments are closed.