H for Harbour Bridge (Sydney)

frizztext hosts a weekly A – Z Challenge

A_Z logo

Event Type: General Blogging

Start Date: Tuesdays, recurring weekly

Description: Every Tuesday I offer the “A to Z challenge”, walking step by step through the alphabet.

If you would like to join in then please click here.

The Sydney Harbour Bridge is a steel through arch bridge across Sydney Harbour that carries rail, vehicular, bicycle and pedestrian traffic between the Sydney central business district and the North Shore. Opened March 19 1932. Wikipedia
Manly Ferry
Manly Ferry

I have walked across it, driving across in a car, taken a train over and driven under in the tunnel. I have climbed up one of the towers you can see at either end to get some lovely photographs, but I have never climbed the bridge, and I never will!

If you have a spare AUS$200 then maybe you’d like to try it? Or perhaps you have.

Harbour Bridge and Opera House from the Manly Ferry
Harbour Bridge and Opera House from the Manly Ferry

Published by

Heyjude

I have lived in the UK for most of my life, but when young I definitely had wanderlust and even ended up living in South Africa for several years which was a wonderful experience. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

20 thoughts on “H for Harbour Bridge (Sydney)”

  1. A veritable icon for your letter H Jude. I doubt that I will ever get there, so it is nice to see your ‘personal’ photos.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. Hope you make it, it is a wonderful place though I believe you have to get away from the coast to see the ‘real’ Australia.

  2. It all becomes clear! 🙂 Dimwit here hadn’t made the connection.
    I’d love to see this bridge from almost any angle, Jude, but sadly the good old Tyne bridge is as near as I’m likely to get. Good job I have a thriving imagination.
    You mean you wouldn’t climb it, even if it weren’t so crazily expensive?

  3. The Perfect H!
    “I wouldn’t climb it if it was free to do so!” Me either! Though after seeing Lignum Draco’s pics from the South Pylon, I will venture that high some day soon. When it stops raining, that is …

    1. You have our rain now? Thank goodness it has gone somewhere else, we were getting very tired of it 😉

      I got some interesting photos from the tower (is that what you call the South Pylon?) but this was pre-digital so only a few images. Hoping to be back at the end of the year to take some more and better ones!

      1. Drop me an email if you do come, and we can have an outing to the South Pylon. Maybe a bevvie or two afterwards, even. 😉

  4. what you write about the harbor bridge in Sydney: “I have walked across it, driving across in a car, taken a train over and driven under in the tunnel. I have climbed up one of the towers…” – would be nice for other bridges too: Brooklyn Bridge, Golden Gate Bridge…

  5. I can see a motif in the middle of the arch so I assume you were there in January perhaps. They do a different motif every year for new years eve.

    I prefer the bridge to the tunnel but it is often slower so I mostly use the tunnel – the views aren’t as good.

    I didn’t realise you’d closed your postcards blog which I was following.

    1. I didn’t know that! I think this was taken in October. My son (he lives in Sydney) uses the tunnel mostly too, but when I visit I use public transport or Shanks’s pony!

      Sorry! Yes I stopped using Postcards in January – merged it with this blog to try and make life simpler. You shall have to follow Travel Words now 😀 😀

Comments are closed.