October Squares Review

Becky (the Queen of Squares) challenged us to find lines in October. In Squares naturally. Any lines.

“Your lines can be long, short, straight or curvy. They might be horizontal, vertical, diagonal, perpendicular or even zig zag. You might prefer them intersecting, natural, singular or in stripes.”

lines

Line 1: Floor in Sydney’s Customs House Library; Telegraph poles along the dunes in Phillack/Hayle; Bird cage art installation, Sydney; Haymaking field and cabbage lines in Godrevy.

Line 2: A stripy cat; Office building in Sydney; Infinity Blue sculpture at the Eden Project in Cornwall; Bicycle railings at Godrevy.

Line 3: Herring-bone paved walkway in Auckland’s harbour area; A line of beach huts at Herne Bay, Kent; Fencing on Godrevy; Groynes and a disconnected pier at Herne Bay.

Line 4: Countryside lines in South Devon; DNA lines on the Globe installation, San Diego; Roof lines of the British Museum in London; Fishing lines on the pier in Herne Bay.

Line 1: Electricity power lines along the dunes in Phillack/Hayle; Lines of words (dictionary) from an art installation at the Customs House Library in Sydney; A Widow’s Walk in West Bay, Dorset; Zig-zag flooring in the Queen Victoria Building (the QVB) in Sydney.

Line 2: Multiple reflectons of the Sydney Opera House; lines of poetry created by me using the Erasure technique; waves on the River Hayle (Heyl); Solarised effect on banana leaves.

Line 3: Tramlines on Auckland’s quay; Shadow and paving at West Bay, Dorset with some cryptic words; the train line from London to Portsmouth on a very snowy day in 2010 when all the trains stopped running; another globe featuring the decline of the polar bear habitat.

Line 4: Lines of Longitude and Latitude encouraging the use of tall grass to help with climate change; lines drawn in the sand by the RNLI coastguards at Gwithian sands in Cornwall; wavy pavement designs (calçada portuguesa) typically found in Portuguese towns and cities – this one in Cascais; V-line formation of Brent Geese heading to their roost after feeding on the Hayle estuary.

Many thanks to Becky for hosting this lovely challenge. Her followers have increased this month due to the wide ranging nature of the concept of lines. Once you start looking around you you realise that you are surrounded by lines. Man-made and natural. Literal or metaphorical. This is a theme that could last an eternity. If you have missed any of the wonderful entries then you could allow yourself a few hours to browse the clever selections that Becky creates during the challenge which is an immense task and for which I thank her.

Oh, and does anyone know which of my ‘lines’ in the collages is the bonus one?

Published by

Heyjude

I have lived in the UK for most of my life, but when young I definitely had wanderlust and even ended up living in South Africa for several years which was a wonderful experience. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

14 thoughts on “October Squares Review”

    1. I am with Pete on this. I cannot recall the gorgeous feline either . . . . . . hee hee did you spot my clever line pun there?!!

    1. The pleasure is all mine Becky. I have lots of fun with your squares. I wonder how long it will be before I stop looking for lines everywhere and start looking for the next challenge!

    1. Thanks Margaret. Becky’s squares are always inspirational. I love to see what I have in my archives and then find myself looking for new subjects that meet the criteria!

  1. Second the amazing hostess line. But it’s her fault I’m tired and disorientated. I was just getting over the change in the clock when she sent me to Seville, and 2 more clock changes in 36 hours. 😦 But it was lovely to meet Sue, and I had a great companion on the trip back- an American lady who could become a friend. 🙂 🙂

Comments are closed.