WPC: Unusual

I am in Doncaster, South Yorkshire at the moment as my son is in hospital there. The daily route to the hospital goes along Town Moor Avenue which is opposite the racecourse. The field itself I remember as where my children played school sports. The houses along this road are quite spectacular (and very large) and today I managed to snap one of the more unusual ones through the bus window.

This conservation area contains Town Field itself and the planned suburban expansion of Doncaster’s residential area carried out in the early twentieth century along its northern side. The architecture of most of the buildings date from this period. The land was developed by Harold Arnold and Son from 1901 and it can be seen that the architects were influenced by the Arts and Crafts movement of the late 19th century. This was based on a dislike of mechanical ornamentation and a belief in the return to hand craftsmanship and simpler forms.

Buildings are mainly two-storied, although along and towards Thorne Road there are three-storied development. They are predominantly in red brick with slate or small red clay plain tiles. There are often elaborate forms of buildings with decorative architectural features, such as windows, doors, chimneys, bays, turrets, gables and porches. There are also areas of half timbering, stucco and decorative brickwork. Front boundary walls are generally low brick walls with castellated terracotta decorative copings often backed with hedges or shrubs.

Doncaster – Town Field was designated a conservation area on 8 April 1991.

Source: DMBC

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

38 thoughts on “WPC: Unusual”

    1. I only managed a quick shot with the phone before the bus moved off. There are several with this onion turret and magnificent arched portals. I really must take the camera and walk up the street. Maybe if the weather is nice tomorrow I will do that. It is probably just over a mile and I can get the bus back to the car park.

  1. Hope your son is ok, best wishes for his speedy recovery.

    I think I’ve mentioned before that I used to live in Doncaster too. I worked for the library service 1982-6.

      1. I worked two years in Sprotbrough Library and two years with the school library service visiting primary schools. Enjoyed the job but wasn’t so keen on the town. When John was offered a lectureship in Glasgow we jumped at the move.

        1. It has not improved. I never liked living here but had no choice and then the kids were settled in school and I was working my way to get a visa for Australia, but that didn’t pan out either in the end which is when I looked to move away. Working in Sheffield for 6 years helped as I was rarely in Doncaster town.

        2. The only advantage of Doncaster was that it was better than Mansfield where we previously lived! John worked in Sheffield throughout so he got the travelling on the grounds that I worked evenings and weekends so it would have been worse for me. Otherwise we’d have stayed in Sheffield.

  2. Elegance in Donny! Who’d have thought? 🙂 🙂 No, I shouldn’t be wicked. I’m always amazed by the variety and grandeur of some of our architecture in this country, wherever you happen to go. Glad he’s on the mend, Jude.

    1. I was so surprised Jo to see them. It obviously wasn’t always a run-down mining town I guess; these are very posh houses!! A shame my mother isn’t alive because I bet she knew a lot about the town as she came from Thorne which is nearby. Bit down today, but that is to be expected.

  3. I haven’t been to Doncaster since the 1970s. I don’t recall much elegance then, but I wasn’t really looking, as it was for work at the time. Hope all turns out well for your son.
    Best wishes, Pete. x

    1. I lived there for 18 years and never noticed these houses, but then I lived in a different area and had no reason to walk along the road, plus I wasn’t so interested in photography and architecture then, just working and raising four children!! I can’t say the town has improved much, but it is different to when I left.

    1. Thank you Carol. If the weather is good next week I will take the camera and walk back to the car and take more photos, there are some amazing houses along this road.

  4. I love a turret on a building, and this one is particularly charming with it’s decorative topping. Nice catch from the bus!

    I’m sorry to hear your son is in the hospital. I’ve been off the grid for several days – did I miss a post about it? I hope he is ok and recovering well.

    1. No post Jo. Just a brief mention on the Cornwall blog that I wouldn’t be around too much for a while. He was rushed in for an emergency operation so it was all very quick and very worrying. He is making good progress, but it is going to be a long time before he is fully recovered. Just when you think life is running smoothly something like this crops up to remind you that every day is precious.

      1. I know what you mean about life sailing along blissfully, only to toss a tsunami at you 😦
        I hope this storm passes quickly. When our children are threatened – regardless of their age – it is deeply disturbing to our world.

        1. Indeed. And you know all about it! How is your son by the way? And your shoulder? All fully recovered and working I hope!

    1. Thanks LD. He came out on Saturday, but still very weak. It will be good to get back home, hopefully not too long before I can take him down with me.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

