Black and White Sunday: Typical

A typical Cape Cod lighthouse

I am uncertain as to which lighthouse this is, either Wood End or Long Point at the end of the spit near Provincetown.  Cape Cod (Massachusetts, United States) is a fascinating place to visit if you are a lighthouse lover as you will find more than a dozen in a reasonably small area. Some of them have had to be moved further inland as the constant pounding of the surf has caused sea erosion along the coastline. Some are even open to the public.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

30 thoughts on “Black and White Sunday: Typical”

  1. Yes I rather like lighthouses, they always make great photos.
    Well I cleaned my car this afternoon and she looked so sparkly the I took her for a spin around Dartmoor. Seeing you would have saved me the hard work, but we did have a little rain and breeze. We’ll just have to try to make another plan!

    1. I really, really, really wanted to visit Nantucket and Martha’s Vineyard because I love the names so much, but we didn’t manage that as we only had a couple of days there. So I do need to return.

  2. Lovely horizontal lines. How much did you have to pay the birds to pose so neatly along the wall? What I thought was a beautifully placed flight of birds on the rhs was in fact a smear on my iPad screen!

  3. I wonder why they’re square instead of round as they are here. Maybe it was just the usual revolutionary ‘well, if you do it that way, we’re gonna do it THIS way’. Like driving on the other side of the road and dumping the u in words. It’s a contrary lighthouse.

      1. I only remember the one at the end of the spit, we have pictures of that from two different visits. But if the other one looks the same then I don’t know either!

  4. Looks effective in bnw brings out the lonely outpost against the encroaching seas – and that bulwark of stones. Guessing we’ll be seeing more sea defences with the rising seas.

    1. I know you’d love it there, so many lighthouses to keep you happy. I wouldn’t mind returning if you are short of a travelling companion 😕 😕

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

