International Women’s Day

Feet, what do I need you for when I have wings to fly?
~ Frida Kahlo

Andrea Michaelsson is a multi-faceted artist better known by her street artist name, Btoy. Her street art stencils often portray the importance of women, and sometimes incorporate famous portraits. Most of these women are female icons from the 1950’s, often depicted through powerful brush strokes combined with very acute stencil lines.

I tried to drown my sorrows, but the bastards learned how to swim, and now I am overwhelmed by this decent and good feeling. ~ Frida Kahlo

I am linking this image to Paula’s Thursday Special: commanding

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

24 thoughts on “International Women’s Day”

    1. It was Cathy. Lots of fantastic graffiti and stencils in those narrow lanes. I shall eventually get around to doing a longer post about it.

        1. Ah well it is good to be busy and certainly paid off for you. I wonder how much free time you’ll have in Japan – probably have to blog about it on your return to the US.

        2. I’m afraid that may be the case, Jude. I have a feeling I’ll be exhausted after long work days and long commutes. Oh well, at least I will keep a journal and take pictures; and I can always write about it upon my return, as you say! 🙂

  1. A great shot that I recall from the city post.
    IWD is a good cause for celebration. If it is any consolation to some women, I have spent most of this morning cleaning the double oven and cooker, and I have a long way to go yet! There’s equality in this household, that’s for sure.
    Best wishes, Pete. x

  2. This is a tribute to remarkable women and very fitting for today. ( I just got a red rose from our Trade Union.) Thank you for posting Kahlo for this challenge, Jude. I am honoured 🙂

    1. Someone ate your comment? That’s very rude! I shall investigate the spam bin in case you have falling foul of the WP police. 😀 😀

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

