Lincoln Cathedral: Choir Screen

The †13C limestone choir screen is a marvellous example of decorated Gothic architecture with pinnacles and arches with tiny carved animal heads.

choirscreen-22

choirscreen-2

The walls of the screen are covered with carvings of leaves and flowers. Traces of red and blue paint can still be seen on them.

Carved head of a tongue-puller journeyman in his leather cap.

choirscreen-15

 

choirscreen-11

I only wish I lived closer as I could spend many an hour focussing on the details of this screen.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

24 thoughts on “Lincoln Cathedral: Choir Screen”

  1. You must have spent a long time poking around. This series has been / is? a real treat. I’m sending links off to a friend who need to destress: this looks like one way to do it. Any more??

    1. Only the windows left for Lincoln, but next stop is Durham (Jo’s neighbourhood) then we reach Scotland! I also have a lovely monastery in Barca to write about. Phew! I have to wonder if I will fit all this in before the garden calls me again… 😀

  2. One of the things I loved about living in Europe was old churches. Thank you for these beautiful images that let me, for a while, pretend I am back there. 🙂

  3. So much exquisite workmanship in the tiny details. It’s easy to walk by and not look closely so thank you for taking the time to look and then share with us, Jude. Wouldn’t it be fascinating to hear the stories of the people depicted in these carvings.

  4. Love Meg’s remarks! Mast of Horticulture, indeed 🙂 You do have infinite patience with the details, Jude. You’d better book a month in Florence!

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

