Thursday Special

Paula (Lost in Translation) has developed a liking for the unfocused in photography. I must confess that this is something that I didn’t like myself several years ago, but like her I have become attracted to blurred backgrounds, bokeh, tilt and shift experimentation and creating movement.

movement

This was an accidental photo – I was going for the vibrancy of the artwork on the security shutters of this shop in Barcelona. A couple of years ago I would have binned this shot, but now I love the movement of the passers-by and especially the pink and blue suitcases that match colours in the painting. Hope you love them too!

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

30 thoughts on “Thursday Special”

  1. I like your choice for unfocused theme. It wasn’t the easiest theme to tackle and I was afraid of regular participants’ reaction, but so far they are all well-behaved 😀 ;). Thank you, Jude for showing not one but two great examples.

    1. I hadn’t looked at it in that way, but yes you are right, the human movement certainly reflects the movement in the left shutter. I do like how others see differences in an image.

        1. I used to look at them on the camera and delete them straight away, until a friend told me to wait and see them on the computer first. It was good advice because they often do look better. On the other hand, some that I think are great on the camera turn out blurry on the computer which is a bit annoying.

        2. I find that a problem with phone photos – they look OK on the phone, but not so good on a computer, unless saved as a very small size.

        3. Some phones do have good cameras. But they are usually the more expensive phones so comparable in price to a decent camera. I don’t use a phone often so I prefer to carry a camera around with me.

        4. Mr ET’s phone came on a plan but it probably didn’t cost what his camera cost. My phone takes nice daytime photos but I find it hard to hold it still enough to get a really clean picture.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

