In the dark

Ailsa over at Where’s My Backpack has given me the perfect opportunity to post a few night shots from my recent Barcelona trip. As someone who now lives in the countryside, where the only light is that from the moon, it opened up new photographic challenges.

Placa d'Espanya
Placa Espanya – light trails (No tripod, just balanced on a fence rail above the road.)
Arc de Triomf
Arc de Triomf – (hand-held)
Lamp-post (hand-held)
Lamp-post (hand-held)
Fountain Placa de Catalunya
Fountain Placa de Catalunya (hand-held)
Street-lights (hand-held)
Street-lights (hand-held)
Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

37 thoughts on “In the dark”

    1. The first one was by resting the camera on a railing, but I took quite a few shots before I got the aperture right, and even then several were too shaky!

  1. Very good for hand-held shots indeed. I have a Joby Gorillapod, which can occasionally be useful. As long as I remember to take it out with me!
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. I usually have one with me too, but I only took the camera and two small lenses with me to Barcelona so I could carry them safely in my bag. Luckily one lens was my fast 45mm f1.8 prime which is a beauty in low-light conditions.

        1. I have a 14mm f2.5 Panasonic pancake lens which I bought secondhand and have been very pleased with – it’s my. ‘Go to ‘ street lens. Cost me £110, I think, so money well spent!

    1. It needs a lot of practice and somewhere firm to rest the camera if you haven’t got a tripod. I took several shots using different shutter speeds, some were pretty dreadful!

    1. If I could have found the timer on the camera settings it might have been even clearer, but I couldn’t see in the dark! I should memorise things like this for the future.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

