WPC: Chaos

‘Street Art’ on a wall in Colchester, Essex, England

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Sometimes what we initially view as random graffiti really isn’t when we stop and look more carefully.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Out of the chaos comes love and friendship and humour

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At least until the council decide to paint over it.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

22 thoughts on “WPC: Chaos”

  1. It is always interesting to ponder the difference between ‘street art’ and graffiti. During all my years in London, I came to appreciate much of the work done on walls, especially on abandoned buildings and blank corners. However, having your own property, or the area where you live defaced by senseless tags or daubs must be very annoying.
    I like the selection you have shown here. As you say, it portrays heart and humour.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

  2. Such striking works of art. So colourful, so vibrant and full of life. And as you said, humour. I’m guessing that wall makes some of us stop and smile. It is beautiful all round 🙂

  3. This was well worth the wait. I love the colours and the sentiment. Very peas-ful.
    ‘Normal people scare me’ made me smile. I believe that everyone is eccentric if you get to know them well enough, so I’m sure if I ever met someone I thought was normal, they’d scare me too.

  4. I think now I’m going to be inclined to look at graffiti with a different perspective. You’re right – when looking at details within the bigger ‘mess’ of scribbles, there are distinct messages. I like the swirl of doves in the top photo representing “peace”, “friendship”, “love”, “empathy”. Can’t argue with that 🙂

  5. I love this! Yes, the dilemma of art vs. graffiti…it depends on where it’s located. One way that Santa Cruz combated their graffiti problem was to allow street murals. As more and more murals came up they saw less and less graffiti. This is being done in San Francisco and in Brooklyn as well. One graffiti artist from Brooklyn made headlines when he sued a famous dress designer for using his wall art without permission. The case looks pretty favorable to the artist because the designer included the artists name on the dress. :0

    1. I dislike the random spraying of walls and tagging, but genuine street art and murals can really add interest to areas that might not be quite so desirable.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

