WPC: On the edge

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
On the edge – Brightlingsea

All along the edge of the sea front in Brightlingsea are colourful beach huts. I rather like beach huts, though opinion is out in regards to Brightlingsea. These images were taken on a particularly cloudy day using a filter on my Olympus camera.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

46 thoughts on “WPC: On the edge”

    1. A ‘dramatic’ filter effect. Works well on a dull day and I do like the way it texturises objects. It can be a little weird with the sky, but this day was very cloudy anyway.

  1. I love beach huts, and your images of them are wonderful. I love the intensity of the cloud and the slightly run-down look. So much more interesting than summer-postcard shots 😃

        1. Oh, damn! I’d have liked that. Too late to turn back now though, I’m near to you tonight about 4 miles west of Norwich. Next time perhaps.

        2. Of course, of. course, now I remember your post about the houses! The Round House is a gem. Frinton is on the list! Thanks a lot, Pete! x

          Next week I’m going to Darmstadt in Germany to show the Mathildenhöhe to a friend. This time I travel without a camera as my MacBook is being uptuned, but here you can get an impression from the biggest collection of Jugendstil in Germany:

          https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Darmstadt_Artists%27_Colony

          http://www.darmstadt.de/fileadmin/PDF-Rubriken/Darmstadt_erleben/Kultur/Flyer_Denkmalschutz/Faltblatt_A_walk_on_Mathildenhoehe.pdf

  2. I rather like the moody sky in these photos.
    I’m not familiar with beach huts except in other people’s photos. They’re kind of an oddity to me. Having grown up in a very isolated area, the idea of being packed one on top of the other on a beach with hundreds of other people doesn’t sound very attractive to me.

    1. It must be an English thing, though I have never used a beach – hut and must admit to loathing crowded beaches. I do like the look of the beach huts though and they must be very useful for getting changed and storing all the paraphernalia people seem to take to the beach these days!

    1. Most are not for overnight use, just day time for changing into swimsuits, storing windbreaks etc and making a cup of tea! There are some places where you can sleep in them but that’s not their normal use. They are very, very small.

  3. I love beach huts! 🙂 🙂 Specially love that first shot. I came looking for the Sunday Garden Challenge but you must have it scheduled for later. Happy Sunday! (in Lincoln? Are you sick of driving yet?)

  4. A good day for a photo though Jude , without too many pesky people spoiling your lined up shot 🙂 Always fancied a day hiring a beach hut but probably that would be the kind of day everyone else would want to aswell …. Like the dramatic filter effect .

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

