WPC: Detail

Those bloggers who follow me on my flower blog will know that I am very fond of capturing the components in nature – last year I finally bought a camera with interchangeable lenses purely so that I could indulge in a macro lens. One that captures the tiniest details which I have used mainly for flower macros.

So this week’s photo challenge is right up my street. Literally!

(please click on an image to enlarge and see the full extent of the details)

Rusty bolt

Do you ever really see the characteristics of a rusty item?

String caught in barbed wire

Or the way a fragment of fabric gets entangled in barbed wire?

P7140141

Or how skilfully the craftsman edged his roof? Nature provides the lichens. When you look closely that’s when you notice those little, important, details.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

25 thoughts on “WPC: Detail”

    1. Well I post a lot of flower and insect macros on the flower blog so I wanted to show something different. SO good to get the macro lens back I have been using it all the time recently – which can be a little difficult for taking a landscape! Thanks for the comment Cathy – over to yours shortly, but I must get a coffee first 🙂

  1. A macro lens is good fun and a great for capturing details. This is a very nice take on the challenge and you have inspired me to have a outside the garden – if only the rain would stop. Sigh. The sun should come back any moment now.
    Klausbernd, the girls and I wish you a lovely weekend and happy shooting! 🙂

    1. The camera has been away for repair so I haven’t been able to use the lens for a while. Now I am not taking it off, which makes for some challenging compositions!

    1. The lens was fine Jo, it was the camera that had the problem. They stripped it and installed a new shutter system! It is so nice to be able to use it without it locking after every shot. I should have returned the camera when it first started happening, but it was an intermittent fault.

  2. So glad your camera is fixed, thank goodness for guarantees.
    I love the rust and the tiny cobwebs, it always amazes me when they show up in close ups when I hadn’t even noticed them, of course I know you did though!

    1. I hadn’t noticed the cobwebs either until I saw the image on screen! It’s those bits you don’t notice that are so good about getting close.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

