Thursday Special

Paula’s (Lost in Translation) challenge this week is Inflated

A wet sheet and a flowing sea,
A wind that  follows fast
And fills the white and rustling sail
And bends  the gallant mast;

~ Allan Cunningham

inflated-1

Yachts on Lac Léman (Lake Geneva) at Montreux were struggling to catch any breeze to inflate their sails.

inflated

and the strange low mist / cloud gave the impression that they were floating in the sky.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

41 thoughts on “Thursday Special”

  1. Jude, I love this. I don’t think I have ever seen a similar photo. The clear absence of a horizon makes the boats stand out better. Loving the neat minimalist look. Great job!

    1. All that mist Pete – a bit like here this week, it has felt quite isolated as we have only been able to see the end of the garden! No hills!

  2. Paula brings out the best in you, Jude! I love the header shot. It really made me smile. And then that second boat shot is just slightly surreal. Did you have to do much with the originals? The framing looks great. 🙂
    I’m breaking myself in gently by having a browse in the Reader because I can’t face my Inbox just yet, let alone download all the photos. 🙂

    1. Paula’s challenges allow me to use photos I haven’t found a place for yet and they always make me think about what would work. As you know, I like to be a bit off-centre. Bet you are glad to be home at last – what with Tavira and then Poland it has been a while since you were grounded. As for these images I haven’t changed much apart from checking the horizon is horizontal (!) and enhancing the colour of the sails a bit. Plus the frame. It was a weird sight over the lake that morning, in fact the first day we had actually glimpsed the mountains across the other side!

      1. Someone on the blogs asked me ‘where to next?’ Whatever sort of impression must I give? 🙂 🙂 Funny how different English green looks from Polish green. The trees there are a wholely different breed (in the countryside, anyway). Cooked my first meal in a while. Bath with a book soon I think. Started Paulo Coelho’s ‘Brida’ on the plane out, before my mind got befuddled with Polish. Will email soon, Jude.

    1. We had a lovely long weekend in Montreux but most of the time there was cloud over the lake so we didn’t see the mountains over on the French side. On our last day the cloud lifted, but there was still a low one floating over the lake. Quite surreal.

    1. Glad you like them Jo. It was quite a sight. Not sure if there was supposed to be a race, but there was hardly any wind so no-one was going anywhere fast!

  3. So utterly dreamy. Sort of soothing image to have on one’ s screen saver. Would then never log on or in to anything else. And now for some reason the BBC’s shipping forecast theme has just butted in. That’s definitely got to go…I mean there’s drifting and drifting 🙂

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

