WPC: Abstract

Abstract expressionist value expression over perfection, vitality over finish, fluctuation over repose, the unknown over the known, the veiled over the clear, the individual over society and the inner over the outer.

— William C. Seitz, American artist and Art historian

abstract-4

abstract-3

abstract-2

abstract-1

Taking a close-up of a mundane object – in this case a door with peeling paint – I then played around with a stained-glass effect. Fascinating to see the myriad of tones that emerge from this mainly blue palette.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

36 thoughts on “WPC: Abstract”

    1. Well you know how much I like peeling paintwork and decay, I just felt like playing with the image because I like the colour so much and then I was quite taken by the number of colours that appeared!

        1. Mine faces north west so brown is OK, but I still would prefer blue… shall have to save up for a wooden framed door so that I can paint it.

      1. The blue colour is great. I like the idea of having a red door. We’re currently renewing the blue cladding, a colour sensitive to light and weather, but so cheerful! 🙂

    1. I have used it on images that have been too blurred to use and often dark – can produce some interesting effects. And as you can see it varies enormously depending on the settings you use.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

