Thursday Special

Arabesque Ribeiro da Cunha Palace @ No 26 Rua dom Pedro V

Arabesque Palace @ No 26 copy
dating from 1877, now housing a university department. This once beautiful building, now somewhat dilapidated, is close to the Parque Príncipe (Prince) Real, near Bairro Alto which is a wonderful park though a little tired at the time of my visit in 2012, as indeed much of Lisbon was.

Paula’s (Lost in Translation) challenge this week is Traces of the Past

Published by

Heyjude

I have lived in the UK for most of my life, but when young I definitely had wanderlust and even ended up living in South Africa for several years which was a wonderful experience. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

17 thoughts on “Thursday Special”

  1. We were in Lisbon in 2013 and I don’t recall it looking “tired” but then we’d just come from Fes in Morocco so in comparison it was clean and modern. And quiet. Oh, so delightfully quiet.

    1. There was a lot of graffiti I found, not the street art stuff, just random spraying and tagging. And on lovely old tiles, the funicular etc. And lots of peeling paint, damaged plaster and unkempt parks. Obvious signs of not having public money. A lovely city nonetheless – one you can easily (?) walk around which I like.

      1. Maybe they’d had a clean up before we got there because I don’t remember much at all and even going through the photos I can only find one funicular with some tagging. I adored Lisbon but I concede that Fes had been so difficult and challenging that landing in a city that was quiet and clean, with easy public transport and where things cost what they said they cost was highly attractive.

Comments are closed.