Thursday Special

Paula’s (Lost in Translation) challenge this week is Tall.

Cascais

Following her idea of a lighthouse I have opted to show this  beautiful blue and white striped pepper-pot structure, which is topped by a small glass beacon.

During the 1750s, on a rocky shoulder overhanging the sea, a small fort was erected that was part of the maritime defence of Cascais until the 19th century. In 1762 it was modernized, and began its function as a lighthouse in 1868 after losing its military value.

In the lighthouse museum are gathered representative pieces that illustrate its activity whilst it was a lighthouse, featuring a series of optical devices from the 19th and 20th centuries as well as an audiovisual centre where a multilingual documentary about the lighthouses of Portugal is exhibited.

You really need to wear good sunglasses when visiting this site – the white glossy tiles of the exhibition centre and auditorium throw off a blinding light in the sunlight which quite hurts the eyes! The tiles are laid slightly unevenly so the apparently plain surfaces catch the light and have a subtle iridescent quality.

I have been promising to show this to my blogging friend Jo for a very long time! I hope she enjoys it 🙂

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

55 thoughts on “Thursday Special”

    1. Have had these photos around for a while but never found an opportunity to post them. I really must write about Lisbon and Cascais. Both lovely places to visit.

  1. Jude it is so pretty! I don’t think I have seen such a striping anywhere else. I loved your comment about needing the sunglasses. It makes me think of driving here on a sunny day when everything is white with snow. It’s absolutely blinding.

  2. You have! And there I was expecting a Friday fountain. 🙂 You do like to keep me on the hop, Jude. It is beautiful and I’m sure I’ll get to walk right by there one day. Thanks for the tip- I absolutely will wear my sunglasses.

        1. So much to see in Sintra. I’d like to return there and spend a few days. Was a bit too hot and humid on my visit so I didn’t enjoy it as much as I could have.

        2. We climbed up there on foot, like bloody lunatics! Didn’t want to queue for the bus. Was that a mistake! I’d like to go back too. 🙂

  3. Ohhhh, this is so very lovely. I drove through Cascais but did not capture this one. I wish that lighthouses in Croatia are more colourful. Thank you, Sue. Your beautiful photos reminded me of my great trip to Portugal. Wish you a more peaceful weekend!

  4. Oh, to have a photographer’s eye. I have a photograph of this same structure but it’s not nearly as impressive as yours. Well, it was also cloudy so we didn’t quite get that blinding effect. I didn’t realise there was a museum attached to it. Guess I’ll just have to go back again one day….

  5. Nice shots. Yes, I can easily imagine the sunlight, bright white tiles and light reflections to be quite blinding. As this was a fort, what have they done with the rest of the buildings/rooms? Boutique accomodation?

  6. It’s a beautiful structure! … but then I am rather partial to lighthouses 🙂 I had wondered about that brilliant white in the sunshine. Interesting how it was built to be even shinier in the light than it already was!

    What is the red structure in the courtyard? It appears to be a small bell tower.

    1. I have no idea Joanne, and can’t find out either. I did notice that the top of it looks like a miniature replica of the actual beacon on the top of the lighthouse.

  7. The header shot is sublime. I thought it was a painting at first. Outstanding!
    This makes me want to go to Portugal now, and not just for the Port.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. Have you been to Lisbon Pete? it is a lovely place for a long weekend and Cascais is on the trainline. Actually I’d stay in Cascais and travel in to Lisbon. A good place for a special birthday 🙂

  8. Interesting angles Jude and you have caught the glow. What I like about challenges is searching through long forgotten photos to use. Pleased you found this one to show us.

  9. How lovely, I really like the use of tiles instead of just paint and the design is unusual as well. Yes please post some more about Lisbon and Cascais when you have time, I knew nothing about Portugal until Jo arrived in my world 🙂

    1. I have only been to Portugal twice and loved both visits. Something about the country which I find very attractive. I quite fancy a fly/drive holiday where you can stay in the Pousadas (historic castles I think)

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

