Venetian Masks

Carnival Mask
Carnival Mask

I’m not a wearer of masks, but couldn’t help being attracted to these beautiful carnival masks in Venice. I quite fancy the blue one below and regret not buying it or maybe the bird mask. Pop over to Ailsa to unmask more interpretations.

venetian mask (2)

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

24 thoughts on “Venetian Masks”

  1. These beauties must have cost a fortune! I especially like the bird ones. Lucky you, being in Venice! I’m totally jelly! I’m also planning to travel there this year and wondering where you found these beauties? 😀

  2. Add me to the list of people who think masks are rather creepy looking. I think I might have watched too many horror movies when I was younger :/
    They are beautiful works of art though. I like the first one all done in glittery golds.

  3. I find the masks very beautiful. They were worn so people could get away with outrageous acts (well probably not so outrageous to us today) and not be known, especially before Lent.

  4. Yes, I agree Jude, the blue one is beautiful although like you, I’m not into masks. But I do like dressing up in costumes, such as an Eqyptian princess for a murder mystery this weekend…at least, I hope so, it’s been postponed once already… 😮

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

