Starling

starling

The Starling (Sturnus Vulgaris) is one of the most common birds in Britain and is more colourful than you think. The plumage is shiny black, glossed purple or green, and spangled with white, particularly strongly so in winter.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

43 thoughts on “Starling”

      1. Oh yes, I remember an enormous flock of them murmuring (murmurating?) above Eastbourne pier some years ago. An incredible sight. Though you don’t see their lovely colours and detail from so far.

  1. This is a wonderful shot, but how did you find him? Starlings seem so lacking these days – at least they are in Much Wenlock. I think I’ve seen one in the garden over the last year.

      1. Ah, but I rather like the silky look 🙂 It suits their wonderful plumage! I was watching them in our garden just today. No great photos as they were perching high in the trees and on our roof! What always astounds me about starlings is their vocal range. So many different types of sound!! I’d love to record them but there’s far too much background noise where we are.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

