California dreaming

Everything is free

Walking along the shoreline in San Diego I was virtually swamped by an explosion of colour – first these vibrant vending machines offering me a multitude of free advertising leaflets and then a stall full of colourful ceramic fishes.

Colourful fishies

I was definitely getting into the carnival spirit

and by the time I reached the kites down at Seaport Village

DSCF3297

my energy levels were rising

DSCF9369

and I was feeling very happy. After all it was February and here I was walking in sunny California 🙂

Don’t you feel more cheerful now?

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

58 thoughts on “California dreaming”

        1. And why not? I still have to go over to see Yellowstone and if the OH doesn’t want to go then I shall be calling on you! He’s not keen on long haul any more, but there are still places I want to visit.

    1. I hadn’t realised how colourful it was! And that’s without looking at my Old Town photos where I know it was very colourful (Mexican). I feel the urge to write some posts about this part of California. 🙂

  1. It’s true that bright colours really do perk a person up considerably. This has been a very cheerful post on another grey January morning.
    Those ceramic fish are sooo cute! I know exactly where I’d want to put one 🙂

  2. After yesterdays stormy encounter with “Tor” in Norway, we do appreciate the colourful spirits of California and all the happy memories connected. 🙂
    Lovely post, Jude!
    Dina and the two feather light Sunshine girls 🙂 🙂

  3. Oh I do, I do! I’ve got so many California shots I keep meaning to share on my blog, but never get around to it. You’ve inspired me Jude! All those windchimes, flags, wind socks, so very Californian, on a beautiful February blue-sky day….thank you! 🙂

    1. You should do a Wordless Wednesday or a Silent Sunday post Sherri. Just a photo. No words. Quick and a great way to showcase those photos that might not ever get seen. Mindst you, I’m not convinced that a chatterbox like you could keep so quiet 😉

      1. Haha…yes, now that would be the biggest challenge of all, LOL 😀 Seriously though Jude, that actually is a good idea, would help keep me in the blogging flow. Watch this space… !!

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

