Llanthony Priory

Paula over at Lost in Translation runs a weekly Black and White Sunday challenge. I have been intending to write some posts about the castles and priories I have visited in Wales, but like other posts, I haven’t quite got around to them yet. But when I saw this week’s theme I thought about the ruins I have photographed and which, to me anyway, always convey that moody atmosphere which clings to ancient buildings. You can almost hear the chanting of the monks, the slap of leather sandals on Welsh slate floors, the swish of robes through the Cloister and the murmur of voices in the Chapter House where the ‘Black Canons’ assembled each morning.

moody

And of course the background of the Welsh hills and the glowering clouds in a wet January only serve to enhance the mood.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

33 thoughts on “Llanthony Priory”

  1. Suitably moody and dark, Jude. If I took a B+W photo of my house this morning (through the torrential rain) I am sure it would look equally sinister, given the bleakness in Beetley today.
    (And the shed has flooded again. Carlisle, I can now empathise…)
    Regards as always, Pete. x

  2. You should definitely host a challenge at my place some day. This is the moodiest one so far 🙂 Thanks, Jude. Hope your year started well.

    1. Don’t you find these places always feel like they are? Not that I believe in ghosts as such, but the history sort of seeps through the place.

  3. Like this a lot, Jude! Yes, you should host a challenge for Paula. It could help promote your Garden challenge and it’s not like you don’t have the expertise. 🙂
    I just stopped by to link your beautiful Wisley lights to my walk for next week, before I forget with so much going on.

    1. I find all these ruins very moody. I have some rather nice photos of Whitby Abbey that still needs writing about! So many blog posts in my head! I have discussed hosting a challenge with Paula but it will be too late in the year for the Garden challenge. Maybe I will have to come up with another one next year?/*!?/*!?

        1. November 2008 I think, so actually longer ago than I thought! Oops! I have also several Welsh castles to post too… Maybe I need to stop taking photos for a year and just use the archives to create posts from. That might work.

        2. Hahaha… you have LOTS of people to talk to apart from me. But perhaps not talking would give me more time. NO, that’s not going to happen.Most of my pleasure from blogging comes from the banter exchanged with other bloggers and visiting their blogs. Every day is different 🙂

    1. Of course in colour it is rather less moody, though the only colours around there was the dull green of the hills and the brown of dead bracken.

  4. Very atmospheric and evocative, both your photo and narrative Jude. Something about priory ruins that bring the senses to life…and the darker the surroundings, the better 🙂

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

