Night lights

Just a few late afternoon photos finishing off the walk for the Season Challenge the other day. It is surprising how quickly it gets dark now.

The Buttercross
St Laurence Church porch
St Laurence Church porch
Broad Street
Broad Street

Angel

Lights on
Lights on

And did anyone spot the pelican and puffin?

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

37 thoughts on “Night lights”

  1. Old Ludlow is looking very seasonal in these shots, Jude. It is dark here by 4 pm most days, but only until the 21st, when the days get longer again!
    Regards as always, Pete. x
    (Sorry- didn’t see the pelican and puffin.)

    1. I will try and get some seasonal shots, but it is difficult when it rains all the time! Medieval Fayre this weekend, but raining so I’m not taking the camera out.

    1. Dark by 4:15 yesterday and still almost a month to go until the shortest day 😦
      Not helped by the grey skies and rain.
      (I hadn’t noticed the birds before last week)

    1. It should be, it dates back to the Medieval period, though additions and changes have been made over the centuries. Sometimes I think I live on a film set!

  2. Like here the days have become very short. When out in the mountains even shorter! I searched for the pelican and puffin but could not find them until reading your hint to Sylvia. 🙂

  3. I had to search through each photo 3 times before I found the pelican and the puffin! The Angel sign kept drawing my eye away from the little figures over the windows.

    It’s 5 pm here and now dark outside. The short daylight makes for very long evenings hibernating! Nice job of the photos with the golden windows. At this time of year when everything seems to be gray, the golden windows look so inviting.

      1. I think the animals get it right. Even Theo my cat is sleeping a LOT more than usual. Why are humans so dumb about the natural cycle of nature and insist on fighting it?!

        1. The lighting seems very much duller these days, I struggle to see inside at times! Some of it is due to the low energy lights, but I am also convinced the power is reduced. Or maybe it is a sign of old age 😉
          The yellow street lights are not great for seeing with either, but it keeps light pollution down I guess.

      1. Ahh…got it, straight away! And I looked there too…I always say I would make a useless witness because of my lack of observation skills! Thanks Jude 🙂

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

