Bench series #47

For the month of November I’m looking for a bench with either a message OR  an Autumnal theme

(any kind of writing will do, it could be a message, a plaque, a dedication or even a map)

Latin; literally 'hear the other side'.
audi partem alteram – bench in Bishop’s Castle Shropshire

The Latin maxim audi alteram partem, one of the most cherished and sacrosanct principles of law, has evolved from three simple Latin words to mean that no person shall be condemned, punished or have any property or legal right compromised by a court of law without having heard that person. Literally – “listen to the other side”

…and no, I don’t know why the words on this bench are in the incorrect order.

If you would like to join in with the Bench photo challenge then please take a look at my Bench Series page. No complicated rules, just a bench and a camera required 🙂

  • Create your own post and title it Bench Series: November
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag ‘bench series’ so everyone can find the benches easily in the WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new bench theme comes out on the first Sunday in December.

My Picks of the Week:

First off, Debbie brings us a bench with history, as does Anabel whilst Violetsky has a poignant message this week and Eklastic finds a sad memorial. Whoever Charles was, I love his curvy bench, brought to you by Kaz, and then there is a trio of autumnal benches by Jo, Majka and Gilly. And a bench with its own phone number? Perhaps you have to ring ahead to reserve a seat 😉
And finally a bit more Gaelic from Elaine “O sit closer and let us sing a song”
(There seems to be quite a few Scottish links this week – even from the USA)

As always there are so many delightful benches to view, I hope you will check out the other links within the comment section.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

37 thoughts on “Bench series #47”

    1. Well, digging into the recesses of my mind, in Latin words are written in a certain order, for instance an adjective comes after the noun. This phrase literally translates as “hear the other side” – I guess “oops” is the response!

  1. Such a good selection of contributions as usual, Jude. I loved Jo’s trip to Auckland Castle this week. Lovely photos, benches, and scenery.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

        1. I must get up to Alnwick, we didn’t have time on our brief holiday in north Cumbria. It is a fabulous region though, and fish and chips at Seahouses was probably a good choice 🙂

  2. A bench particularly for our times, Jude. Bishops Castle is a bit like an advent calendar – you open little metaphorical doors here/turn a corner there, and out pops a treasure.

  3. ‘Listen to the other side’. That’s even more pertinent today than every before it seems. Another unusual bench, thanks Jude! I’ll do my best… 🙂

  4. Great choice Jude – and I absolutely love the explanation of the writing. I had a hard time seeing it as my brain has long forgotten the latin I learned in catholic high school! Love the message, especially now.

  5. Love this message, Jude. I’ve forgotten most of my school Latin now, so wouldn’t know whether the words are in the right or wrong order. 🙂 Your Bench Series has become so popular. What will we all do when it ends? 😕

  6. It’s odd that the words are the wrong way around on your bench, but I Like it because it reminds me of my dad who was a judge. There are some good ones this week and I made the cut! 🙂

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

