Windows at Wightwick

It has been a while since I found some interesting windows to post, but at last here are some from the marvellous Wightwick Manor in Staffordshire (near Wolverhampton) which is designed in the Arts and Crafts style.

P9191899

Just look at those carved faces on the header photo and all the detail in the window frames. You have to admit it is much more beautiful than uPVC windows.

P9192016

And I love the geometric panes and the circular leading, though I confess I would hate to have to clean them.

This monthly challenge is hosted by Dawn from ‘The Day After’ who invites participants to post pictures of any windows that  they find curious, inviting, photogenic, or in some way tell a story. Visit her blog to see more windows and/or to join in with the challenge.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

34 thoughts on “Windows at Wightwick”

  1. They are fantastic windows, Jude. Like you, I wouldn’t want to have to clean them. I had some experience with stained-glass leaded lights in the Wimbledon house, and they were always a chore.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. I had leaded windows – what a pane [sic] to clean them, the lead made the cloth black too 😦
      When house hunting I ruled out any with leaded windows.

      1. I had the same reaction to what a nightmare cleaning all those windows would be … but there is no question that all that detail is exquisite!

        I find taking photos of windows really challenging. Nicely done.

  2. These are lovely Jude. Will have a better look this evening. Sitting in the car at Seaham beach right now waiting for camera crew for the One Show. Better look for benches while I’m waiting xx

  3. Fabulous windows, Jude. I like the magnificent woodwork too. Lovely to look and see through, but what a chore to keep clean! I agree with you and Beetleypete on that one …
    Warm greetings from sunny Bonn (20°),
    Dina x

  4. Phew! I’m back 🙂 Nightmare- I locked us out of the car with the keys still inside. Why do these things happen to me? NEVER leave me in your car unattended, Jude. Thank goodness Mick has some nice friends. 🙂
    Back to the windows- the phone’s not bad for viewing on but I wanted to see more detail. The stained glass is lovely, isn’t it, and very nice carving too.

    1. Could only happen to you Jo 😉
      Well actually I have done that in my old car which could be locked without a key! Had to walk the four miles home in the dark along the scary A3 with traffic whizzing past at 80 mph only to realise that my door key was on the same key-ring! Not my best day 😦

      1. Eeek! At least I had a house key in my purse and Mick had a spare car key at home. We got a lift back, with me feeling a total numpty. Waiting now to see whether we’re going to Lumiere tonight. Mick wants to tie it in with a work related visit to Durham but I’d just like to go before Abigail gets us. What’s it like over there?

  5. These are truly stunning, what workmanship and style. I’m not sure about the size of the windows in the header and the faces don’t help a tired old bird like me, enlighten me a little? 🙂

  6. Some beautiful windows here Jude though as you say I would hate to have to clean them! Very hot here in Perth though we are lucky to live near the coast as the sea breeze has been coming in strongly all week from lunchtime 🙂 Hope you have a lovely weekend!

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

