Bench series #44

For the month of November I’m looking for a bench with either a message OR an Autumnal theme

(any kind of writing will do, it could be a message, a plaque, a dedication or even a map)

santa cruz
I’ll start off with a message.

I love the ones on benches in the USA often showing a great sense of humour – this one is at Santa Cruz, California. I saw one with “June’s bench of Hugs” but sadly didn’t take a photograph. Now I want to know what kind of guy Brett Gardner was. Casual I guess 🙂

If you would like to join in with the Bench photo challenge then please take a look at my Bench Series page. No complicated rules, just a bench and a camera required 🙂

  • Create your own post and title it Bench Series: November
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag ‘bench series’ so everyone can find the benches easily in the WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new bench theme comes out on the first Sunday in December.

My Picks of the Week:

The last of the occupied benches came in throughout the week, most with real people rather than sculptures.  Violetsky has some unusual mums on benches, more mums from Elaine, whilst Sue goes for a male on a bench and Sylvia has grand-kidlets amongst others! Ruth finds some yarn bombing, but the scariest occupied bench has to be this one. What do you think?

As always there are so many delightful benches to view, I hope you will check out the other links within the comment section. And thank you all for your overwhelming response in October – it seems that a lot of you like to photograph benches that are occupied.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

70 thoughts on “Bench series #44”

  1. I love personally dedicated benches. I would like to have one over at Beetley Meadows when I’m gone, commemorating all the hours of walking there with Ollie.
    And now I know what a ‘yarn-bomb’ is. Always learning…
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. No yarn bombing in Beetley then? Perhaps you could start a trend? I fancy a bench dedication too, it would be fitting for me I think. But where is the question…

  2. Lovely bench Jude. I’ve been taking bench photos all over the place but I haven’t posted any yet. I think I will just pay homage to you and your series with a big post featuring the best benches of our road trip, eventually.

  3. Love that message. Brett must have been a very casual dresser. 🙂 Thanks for the mention, Jude. I doubt I’ll be dropping off entries for this month’s challenge. Cant think of any that I’ve got at the moment. There is one in my MiL’s village dedicated to her reaching her 100th birthday and being the oldest inhabitant, but I have yet to photograph it. Happy Sunday. 🙂

    1. Having joined in with many of your challenges over the years it is so lovely to see you visiting me – what a lovely blogosphere we live in 😀
      Thanks Cee!

      1. I just get a lot of bench photos. I decided to start looking for the benches though. So I might have more fun with you later this month and even beyond!! 😀 😀

    1. What a perfect entry for the challenge. Lots of benches with not only messages, but also autumnal! Thank you so much for sharing these. And I love a walk in a churchyard too for much the same reasons as you.
      Jude xx
      (not sure I can actually comment on your site)

  4. He was a rebel I reckon Jude, I remember those signs that popped up all over the place in supermarkets and restaurants in the 80s ‘No Shirt, No Shoes, No Service’ 🙂 Will see what I can come up with, hopefully not quite so late in the day (or night) as last month 😉

    1. Ah, now that makes sense. Yes, I remember signs like that in South Africa in places where they wanted to deter the surfies. So Gilly and Jo were probably spot on with their comments.

      1. Yes, I was amazed when I first visited CA in 1979 to see those surfer dudes walking into restaurants wearing nothing but a tight pair of shorts and a smile. I was so shocked that I couldn’t stop staring 😉 😛 😉

  5. What an interesting comment on this bench Jude. I’ve been missing in action for a while now and the weeks slip by. I will be back home next week and I have been finding a few benches on my stay in NZ. Jack helps me constantly saying ” there’s another one for Jude…”

    1. Thanks Trev. I have been over to view your benches and they are great. I cannot comment on your site though as I don’t have FB or Twitter or Google accounts. Is there any way you can allow people to comment by using their URL ? I am sure bloggers have been to your site, but cannot leave a comment like me. Good luck with the blogging 🙂

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

