Mind your step

You really have to be careful when you go through a meadow full of cows when looking for autumn colours to photograph. Croft Castle have let their cattle loose which means you have to look down as well as up!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Croft Castle and The Church of St Michael and All Angels
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Oh, oh, this one has noticed me

The parkland is full of ancient trees – some 400-500 year old chestnuts and an oak tree thought to be 1,000 years old. And a story linking to the Spanish Armada.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA I’m a bit of a wuss when it comes to cows, or horses. They make me nervous, because of their size I suppose. I’m much happier with sheep.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Exit...
Exit…
Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

53 thoughts on “Mind your step”

    1. Cows can be protective if they have calves with them, these didn’t, and no bulls – I keep my distance from fields with a bull, though have been known to cross a field with a ‘Beware of the Bull’ sign, keeping very alert!

  1. I find cows to be quite unnerving. The way they all stop and stare at you. Of course, I’m staring right back at them, but somehow that seems more the natural order of things. The leaves are beautiful.

  2. Well you won’t be much help when we go on that photographic mission together! Who’s going to keep the cows at bay while I get the close up of the calf? 🙂 🙂
    Funny because I was walking alongside a field full of horses this afternoon. They were fenced off but when I got midway along the path I realised that one had managed to get out (a Houdini- there were no gaps in sight) and was blocking my way. I sort of hovered and it gave me such a disdainful look and then went back to munching the juicy grass. Phew!!!

    1. Wow! What photographic mission is this that I agreed to? Seriously, I do have a close up of a calf taken in April, but they keep the cows in the yard then. We really are wimps aren’t we? I even had a couple of cows and calves once!

      1. I might have to root out all my foal and highland cattle photos just to show how daring I am! No- you know that’s never going to happen. Thanks for the recipe 🙂

        1. I’m smiling and scowling at the same time now. First at your baa-ootiful photo 🙂 and second because I don’t know how to do this piece of skullduggery? 😦 (the photo in comments )

        2. Upload image to your media library.
          Select image (edit) and copy the URL
          Go to the comments in your WP Admin
          Find the comment to reply to
          click image
          Paste the URL
          simples 😉

        3. Where’s me notebook? It’s a rainy day and I’ve been drinking wine so I won’t try it right now. (didn’t mean to have lunchtime wine but my friend had some bad news to share)

  3. Jude I am in love with these photos. Perhaps it’s the farm girl in me that these cows make me smile. However cows and castles?! Well let’s just say that doesn’t happen in Canada. Wonderful colors too.

  4. Jude, I love the autumn colours. My head says it’s October and autumn, but obviously here in Aus it is spring. So I’m loving seeing autumn in blogs right now. Thank you 🙂

        1. That’s a terrific idea. Sydney is awfully expensive and I find it very busy. I’d prefer to live somewhere quieter in Australia where you feel that it IS Australia if you know what I mean.

  5. Thank you, thank you, thank you!! Do you have any idea how much teasing I’ve taken because cows make me very nervous? Now I know I’m not the only one!!! By my standards, you are very brave walking through a field with cows and no fence to separate you.

    The photos you got however, were worth the effort! As Sue Slaght said … cows and castles just don’t happen here 🙂

    1. You are certainly NOT the only one given the comments here 🙂
      I have got used to finding cattle and sheep and even ponies roaming on NT properties as they use them to naturally keep the land cleared – in this case there is actually a farm attached – but I do keep an eye on what they are doing! And at least there are no bears. Yet. 😀

      1. No – I would not be happy about encountering a bear either.

        This week it was all about chipmunks. There were dozens of them and they were really active. They would run right in front of my feet. They obviously didn’t think of me as a predator 🙂

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

