Bench series #43

For the month of October I’m looking for a bench with someone or something sitting on it

(any kind of bench will do, but there must be at least one person, animal or object on the bench)

peacock in glenwhan garden
This week it is a ‘something’ – a peacock in the Glenwhan Garden, Dumfries and Galloway

If you would like to join in with the Bench photo challenge then please take a look at my Bench Series page. No complicated rules, just a bench and a camera required 🙂

  • Create your own post and title it Bench Series: October
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag ‘bench series’ so everyone can find the benches easily in the WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new bench theme comes out on the first Sunday in November.

Well it is the last week for your occupied benches, as we start something new next Sunday. I have been inundated with benches this week, many more with sculptures and even stranger objects! And I am loving the ones set up especially for the challenge 🙂

My Picks of the Week:

My first pick has to be this beautiful bench in Melbourne that would have fitted nicely into the unusual category, but luckily has a lovely young man perched on it;
Lisa (Daily Musings) makes me laugh with her take on a bench with a sculpture from the prolific Seward Johnson. Take a look at her last week’s bench too, sure to make you smile. And more from America from Dawn(1)  who captures a well-located bench(2) that many cyclists are deeply grateful for.
Meanwhile in England Sue’s couple are simply admiring the view. Gilly on the other hand has set a challenge. Anyone know where this is? And the restless one gives us a Smörgåsbord of benches. Grumpily 😀
More from the folk who live upside down: DJ finds a lazy bench for lazing on and Ruth has been scouring the streets in Tassie. Whilst Kaz has a view to die for if you are waiting for the ferry.

Thank you everyone, new and old for all for the delightful benches sent my way, and a small mention to all those noisy ones that shout out my name as you go past! Sorry about that 😉

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

78 thoughts on “Bench series #43”

  1. The world is going to have withdrawal symptoms in January! You have a lot to answer for- what IS everybody going to do with their bench shots, now that you’ve got us compulsorily taking them? As if January isn’t bad enough! 😦 Might as well carry on in grumpy mode 🙂 Thank you, dear!

  2. I suppose even a peacock needs to rest occasionally…
    The ‘lips’ bench is my favourite, though it seems that you have to be a youngster to be able to get comfortable on it. What’s next with the benches? how about benches ‘inside’ places next time?
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. The lips is gorgeous! Can’t wait to see what else Melbourne has to offer. Benches inside places would be good, but I’m afraid November is benches with words/plaques OR autumn themed.

    1. Well most of my benches come from the archives Debbie, which is why I started posting them in the first place, to use them up! Sadly I have been guilty of taking more bench photos throughout the year. I don’t appear to be able to ignore them o_O

    1. Yes, you wouldn’t want to try and sit next to him! And no, the bench challenge comes to an end in December; it wasn’t originally a challenge at all, but everyone I know seems to photograph benches and wanted to join in. I thought it was just me! Still a few more weeks to share them 🙂

  3. I’m ashamed to admit I have never heard of this garden. It’s now on the to-do list, so thank you for that. I have a few occupied benches in tomorrow’s walk for Jo so I’ll ping it across here too, though it might be too narrative for your purposes. However, I’ve got quite a few inscribed with poetry etc, so I’m looking forward to that!

  4. It’s hard to compete with a peacock 🙂

    A little peacock story for your Sunday (since you started it) … Toronto has a small zoo in High Park which – among other things – has a couple of peacocks. One of them escaped last May and was “on the lam” for several days before he finally returned on his own.
    The local news every day included sightings of the adventurous peacock with photos that people had taken.

    Your photo reminded me of our peacock on an unauthorized leave from the park zoo 🙂

    http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/toronto/high-park-zoo-peacock-takes-high-profile-escape-out-of-sight-1.3094824

  5. What a composition. A beautiful array of color and reflection. Could have been a good one for the Weekly Photo Challenge as well because if you weren’t ‘careful’ you’d have certainly missed that shot.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

