Monthly Photo Challenge: The Changing Seasons #10

October already, how the years fly past these days. It doesn’t seem 11 months since I was planning and packing for my trip to Australia and New Zealand. Luckily we have been experiencing an Indian Summer here in the UK. September and October have been mostly dry so far. Misty mornings give way to bright cloudless days until mid afternoon when cloud descends again. Being sunny and unseasonably warm I am not even going to complain about the nights drawing in. For now.

The only issue is that because we haven’t had any cold periods yet a lot of the trees are still very green looking; we need a sharp cold hit to trigger the process that causes leaves to turn colour. Still, I decided that this month I’d take you back along the common where we can get a good view of the town and any colouration of the trees and shrubs from above. Hopefully next month we will see more changes.

Date: October 14 2015
Weather: sunshine and cloud
Temperature: Fresh and sunny (11°C)
Time: 12:00 – 13:15 PM

I’m not going to talk too much this month, I’ll let the pictures tell the story and those of you who have been following this series should recognise a lot of the views.

Old town view and St Laurence
Old town view and St Laurence

There are some burnished golds and copper tints and I see that the meadows have been mown and the bracken is dying down.

trenches dug during the civil war by parliamentary troops

Coming out on to the open sward of Whitcliffe and the panoramic views over the town from here you get a good idea that autumn has indeed arrived.

Whitcliffe Common
Panoramic View of Ludlow

Leaving the woodland behind, somewhat disappointed that I didn’t find any fungi (but then it has been a dry month) I arrive at Dinham bridge and peer over the parapet to find my swans and their five cygnets have made the ‘beach’ their home. The brown water is quite low and running slowly today and the sun is starting to play its usual game of hiding behind clouds now.

Up Dinham, remember the stone cottage? Someone has been busy in the garden this summer. Bright red pyracanthus hangs over the wall up by St John’s Chapel and the trees around the castle look quite magnificent.

And finally a few autumnal flowers

The Cardinal has decided to have a photo project going throughout 2015 – a blogging event, a monthly photo challenge. Find a location near your home, take somewhere between 5-20 photos and post them in a gallery in your blog. Continue to do this every month. The idea is to capture all the changes: the seasons, the weather, different times of the day, some night photography perhaps?

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

61 thoughts on “Monthly Photo Challenge: The Changing Seasons #10”

  1. Wonderful selection Jude. I hope when the temperature changes it doesn’t bring a wind with it that blows all the leaves off before they change colour!

        1. Not at all 🙂 Apart from the header photo which came out a bit weird so I upped the saturation a bit (this is the point where the camera froze).

  2. Ludlow always delights, and I have trouble deciding which season to admire the most. We have had the chilly winds and rain in the east, so the heating has been on. But it isn’t cold enough outside for the trees to change much either. I was hoping for some autumnal colours to photograph, but it has been too wet to take the camera out.
    Lovely selection Jude.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. I think it is a town that looks good at any time given some sunlight! I have the heating on in the evening now or the fire, but so far it has been mild during the day and no rain so far, though judging from the clouds today it may not be far away. Have a good weekend Pete 🙂

    1. Yes. Most of the changes are at the top of the trees which is why I went up on to the common. Let’s hope it doesn’t get wet and windy before the rest of the leaves have a chance to turn. I guess next month’s walk will reveal what happens!

  3. *sigh* I just never get tired of looking at a touch of autumn … anywhere.

    In this set of pictures though, I think I’m really seeing for the first time exactly how huge the castle really is. The top photo is a WOW! … as well as the photo from the bridge with the swans on the beach. I guess I was too busy looking at other stuff to notice how IMPOSING the castle is in the town. With a view like that, I don’t think I’d ever get tired of looking at it 🙂

    1. I imagine the castle looked very imposing back in the day as there was no woodland or trees in the landscape around it. Obviously built to deter those Welsh invaders 😉

    1. Thank you! The sun was ducking and diving by the time I got to the castle end of the walk, but lit up the castle beautifully when it did come out. Interesting how just that one cottage appears, there are others among the trees!

  4. Cherish it, Jude! It should be your last Autumn in Ludlow, and you’ll have this lovely record of your time there. Cardinal had his inspiration at just the right time for you. 🙂

    Rather different in our part of the world. It’s been much cooler this past week and Autumn is well advanced. In fact, I’m thinking that in going north I could miss it or only catch the damp and dreary stage. 😦 Ludlow’s not so very bad, is it? Just not by the sea 🙂

    1. Ludlow is a delightful town Jo, I couldn’t have asked for anywhere better to live in Shropshire. I like it a lot more than Shrewsbury where I lived for a couple of years. But it is expensive to buy property here and although the surrounding countryside is gorgeous, public transport is dire and most village shops are closed. But it was never part of the plan to live here, we had intended to head west as far back as 2008 so I think it is time we fulfilled that dream, while we can 😀

    1. There are quite a lot of benches on this walk, several on this open ground as it does lend itself to the most dramatic views over the castle and town.

    1. Yes, when I started the challenge I wondered whether I’d be able to complete the year. Looks as though I will, but it will possibly be the last year here so a lovely reminder.

        1. Yes, when I can’t blog any longer I hope I shall be able to look back through these posts and enjoy revisiting all the places I have been fortunate to visit. That’s if WP is still operating then!

        2. I think WP is here to stay, but I only hope the big guys don’t take over, ie Google or Microsoft or facebook and start changing things…

    1. I like it – “quintessentially English” – Sir John Betjeman would agree with you 🙂
      ” Ludlow….is probably the loveliest town in England with its hill of Georgian houses ascending from the river Teme to the great tower of the cross-shaped church, rising behind a classic market building.” 1943

      I’ll let you know when ‘fresh’ becomes ‘cold’ 😉

  5. Thank you for picking such a nice and sunny day for this one, Jude. We just had the first frosty nights in Norway, this entry cheered and warmed us up.:-)

  6. Beautiful views here Jude . It looks glorious there with all the Autumn below and around the castle . After the winds whipping up right now I imagine if not already they’ll be bare by the end of the weekend !

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

