Little Italy San Diego CA

is historically home to Italian Fishermen and their families, many who arrived there from San Francisco after the devastating 1906 earthquake. The area went into a severe decline during the 1970s when the Interstate 5 was constructed destroying 35% of the neighbourhood. Now it is a very popular area. India Street is lined with restaurants featuring cuisines of both Southern and Northern Italy, including Sicilian dishes, and there are cafés with secluded courtyards serving good coffee, paninis and gelato. Delis offer a selection of foods, wine and delicious deli sandwiches and traditional Italian foodstuffs and there are some great local boutiques where you can find unique clothing, jewellery and small craft items.

Angel Mural: (Filippino Lippi)

One great thing about Little Italy, is the abundance of public art displays . Walking around the district you can’t help stopping to look at and photograph the walls. This mural can be found on the corner of Juniper and India, and was created by Dawn Morrison Wagner, a chalk artist.

This is my interpretation of paint for Ailsa’s weekly travel theme.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

26 thoughts on “Little Italy San Diego CA”

    1. There are or at least there were several murals in the area. I had fun going around and photographing them all. There is an artwalk every year in Little Italy so maybe they change some of the murals? Even without it is a lovely part of SD 🙂

    1. OH works for a company that has its US base in SD so I have been fortunate to visit several times, always in February / March though. We stayed on the edge of Little Italy so I got to know it well and loved to shop in an Italian deli there. We haven’t been over for 3 years now and I miss my winter hop to California.

  1. We didn’t have time to go to Little Italy when we visited San Diego, with the kids being young and so heading to the Zoo and Wildlife Park instead. Lovely, but I would so much like to re-visit SD and place like this 🙂

    1. We visited the zoo on our last visit (2012) and I wasn’t so impressed with it as I had expected to be as it is world known. I have been told that the Wildlife Park is much better, but we didn’t have a car on that occasion. Maybe we will get to have one more visit!

  2. This work is absolutely beautiful, so touching. I never made it to little Italy during my short stay in SD, sad to say.
    I wasn’t too impressed with the zoo either. Like you, I had expected it to be a lot more, world-famous as it is.

    1. I have loved my brief visits to SD – it has great public transport so combined with walking it is easy to get around all the different areas. I still think Little Italy is the nicest, but Coronado has the views and the ocean.

  3. I’ve never been to San Diego and – from your description – now I want to go more than ever! … but isn’t it odd that Little Italy would be at India Street? The town fathers responsible for street naming might need a geography lesson 😉

    1. Not sure where the India comes from but the rest of the streets running in parallel from the foreshore are Front, Union, State and Columbia. The streets running north to south are all named after trees!

    1. So many challenges Jo! I have cut back on the challenges since running the bench one. Possibly cut back even more next year. I have a few ideas 😉

  4. I have never been to America, as you may recall. But I love these huge murals wherever they appear, and generally whatever they represent.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. I like San Diego, there are several areas ‘downtown’ in easy walking distance and the public transport gets you to other places. I have posted photos from there but never really written about it. Maybe I should.

    1. It is a great area (shame about the freeway), lots of restaurants and shops and so close to the trolley system and the foreshore too. We always stay on the fringe there.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

