autumnal colour

Ailsa is looking for intensity this week so what about this apple orchard inside the walled garden at Berrington Hall? There was a lot of vibrant colour there this week: the fiery reds and sulphuric yellows were in competition.

I’m delighted to see so much colour around at this time of year. I shall soak it in to get me through the grey days of the coming winter.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

50 thoughts on “autumnal colour”

  1. A real feast of rich colours there, Jude. It has finally stopped raining here, after three days of constant downpours. I am hoping to get some nice autumn photos myself, over the next few days.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

  2. Beautiful Kaleidoscope of Golds and reds.. Wonderful.. Today the Sun has got his hat on.. and is smiling again, after all our rain.. and its glorious out..

    Thank you for sharing your Autumn Bounty 🙂

  3. Lovely intense colours, Jude….I had a shopping and chores day today, but tomorrow is apparently set fair so I must go out for a wander!

  4. Lovely! Spotted you on the WordPress blog – congrats. Don’t often read it but your bench was the thumbnail in Feedly and I recognised it at once – even if they had cunningly disguised you as a man!!

    1. I was not expecting such a riot of colours (a further post of the garden will appear on the other blog shortly) as on previous visits I have been disappointed in the lack of planting here. Not this time though. Absolutely fabulous! Someone has been planting furiously.

  5. We’ll have no talk of grey skies around here, thank you very much! Finally got out of the gloom and into the sunlight today. Hooray!!! 🙂 And Mistress Meg’s right (isn’t she always?)- quite glorious that header! 🙂

    1. Such gorgeous brick! And garden. We had a spectacular black sky this afternoon complete with sunshine – no rain! Bit colder though. More of this garden later on the other blog 🙂

  6. So gorgeous, I do so love your photos Jude. I think we are in for a beautiful autumn this year with the colours already so lovely. Strange weather though isn’t it? I would love that apple tree in my garden 🙂 Have a lovely weekend 🙂 xx

      1. Cider originally referred to an intoxicating beverage (which is now often called hard cider), so somehow I think those drinkers weren’t bothered by the fact that the apples in question weren’t good for eating.

        1. Herefordshire is cider country – most of the apples grown here go to one of the big cider companies. Not to be confused with apple juice which isn’t alcoholic 😀

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

