little things in life

A fellow blogger and friend has been posting some images of spring in Australia including close-ups of moss starting to sprout. It prompted me to take my new macro lens down to the river where I knew moss grows abound and where I had seen some tiny fungi growing just the other day. Unfortunately it was quite dark by the river (it is flanked by a high cliff and trees on the one side) and moss isn’t as attractive in its latter stages, but I did find the fungi and a few interesting little things to photo. They are not the sharpest of images, but as I have mentioned over on the flower blog where you will find more macro images, I am happy to record my journey with the new camera with the hope that as time goes on I will improve!

We will start with this quite small leaf covered with tiny hairs on which there were beads of moisture – from the early morning fog I imagine.

P9282194

Next a look at some fungi – note that the puff ball ones are actually very, very small, probably the size of the nail on my little finger.

Then some moss – again with the droplets – ferns and a couple of flowers. I had not realised until now how much the spores on a fern look like tiny eggs.

And finally one insect (there was a spider too but the quality of that shot is far too embarrassing to post here) a bright red-brown fly. If you click on him to enlarge the image you will see the hairs on his back.

P9282211

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

43 thoughts on “little things in life”

  1. Wow! Amazing images, Jude. The Green Alkanet is so very pretty, and the fly in full technicolour, actually looks quite attractive. 😉 So fascinating to see all of these close up. You’ve really been having fun with your macro lens.

    1. I am having such fun Sylvia. I’m sure people passing me were wondering what on earth I was doing with a camera stuck in a bunch of ‘weeds’.

  2. It looks as if the macro lens is going to prove to be a great investment, Jude. Really good shots, and wonderful colour rendition too.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. I am enjoying it immensely Pete. I will use it with a tripod at some point which should help with the focus, though the camera has very good stabilisation.

        1. We have no less than 3 tripods – well one is a gorillapod which is useful for attaching to railings or tree branches! I have not used the others much except for night shooting. I guess it is just less convenient, but I will experiment – eventually! I’ll check that one out though in case it is better than what we have.

    1. Too true. I can see why people get quite obsessed with macro photography and buy extension tubes etc. I don’t think I’ll get that carried away, but it is a lot of fun seeing what comes out in an image once I have it on the big screen.

    1. I shall try to do better with the moss. I did get some in the frost a few years ago which looked good, that might be worth trying to capture with this lens.

  3. The puff balls are that tiny? Wow they are remarkable, I can blow them up to the size of cupcakes on my tanl5snd they still look good. Great pics with your excellent lens Jude ☺

  4. Jude this’s to journey of yours is amazing! As if there is a whole new perspective to your images. The insect looks as if under a magnifying glass it is so vivid!

    1. I’ve not seen one either, the bright colour caught my eye as I was trying (unsuccessfully) to capture a spider. Pure luck it was in focus before it flew away again!

  5. I must say these photos are so good Jude and you are having so much fun, I am getting very tempted to buy a new camera and lens. That fly photo when enlarged showing all his hairy back is amazing.

    1. I have been wanting a camera to which I could attach a proper macro lens for several years, just couldn’t decide on the model.And really there was nothing wrong with the camera I had (except you couldn’t get really close-up). As it was the macro aspect I was more interested in I finally decided that now was the time. And it opens your eyes to a whole new world!

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

