Bench series #39

For the month of September I’m looking for a Metal bench

Quatrefoils
Quatrefoil bench in Autumn

If you would like to join in with the Bench photo challenge then please take a look at my Bench Series page. No complicated rules, just a bench and a camera required 🙂

  • Create your own post and title it Bench Series: September
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag ‘bench series’ so everyone can find the benches easily in the WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new bench theme comes out on the first Sunday in October.

This is the last week for your metal benches, next Sunday we start looking for ones with someone or something on it.

My Picks of the Week:

Kaz, another lady who lives in Sydney, took a photo of this bench some time ago, but it is metal and it is a beautiful shot so I am including it in my pick this week. Tish invites you to join her in a circular argument. Debbie is feeling chilly in Margate. Klara is back with a contemporary bench and Lori has another sculptural bench whilst Violetsky brings us something a little more normal from Scotland this time and Elaine heads back to New Orleans.

As always there are so many delightful benches to view, I hope you will check out the other links within the comment section.

This post is my 500th on this blog which is really weird because I have reached the 500th post on my flower blog too. I obviously take too many photographs! I would like to thank all my followers and readers for their likes and comments and all the wonderful conversations that occur on here. Who knew that blogging could be so much fun. Thank you all 🙂

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

61 thoughts on “Bench series #39”

    1. Well this is over two and a half years and I had a lot of travel trips to write up from the past (still have a few to catch up with). I don’t think the next two and a half years will be quite so prolific! Thank you for enjoying them 🙂

  1. congratulations on the 500 posts. it is pleasure participating here. your this week’s bench is AMAZING. I haven’t seen such a delicate metalwork in a bench.

  2. All good benches for the theme, but as I have always had a fondness for benches that circle old trees, I have to go with Tish this time.
    Well done on your 500+500, Jude. I look forward to the next 1,000!
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. Groan! When you put it like that it seems an impossible task! I’m surprised that both blogs have the same amount of posts as I am quite random in the way I post. I used to participate in a lot more challenges so the posts are fewer nowadays.

    1. Never mind Sylvia, next Sunday is the beginning of a new theme so maybe you can find some that fit that one? I appreciate your visits, regardless of whether you come empty handed (or benchless) 😉

    1. I agree. A cushion on these benches is an essential. Don’t think I have ever seen one here though. Perhaps they don’t want people to sit for too long 🙂

  3. Congratulations on your 1,000 posts! I’ve been at mine for over 7 years and have around 1,000 on each. Some years I was a bit more prolific than others. Meeting you and Jo has helped get me back into posting.
    Anyway, I absolutely adore your bench this week. It would look very complementary in some church yards, I think. Like an outdoor pew!
    I have another ‘normal’ bench for you this week. 🙂
    You can find it here:
    http://violetsky-sightlines.blogspot.ca/2015/09/museum.html

    1. Thank you. Blogging is a lovely way to meet people and see new things. I started mine simply to record my travels and somewhere to put my photos, I never dreamed that it would become such a part of my life.

  4. Wow Jude 500 posts on two separate blogs is amazing! Congratulations ot you and my sincere thanks for your photography tips along the way. You really have shown me a lot about looking at the image from different perspectives and angles. You are often traveling with us. 🙂

  5. This a great shot, I love the colours and the shape of the bench (though I’d never have known it was “quatrefoil”!). Thanks for mentioning my train station bench. 🙂
    I just got back from a week up in the “Top End”. In addition to some stunning scenery, I saw a few interesting benches — alas, mostly metal and/or wood, so they’ll have wait for December’s “whatever” category. Though luckily there is one with a person sitting on it, so I can join in October, too. 😉

    1. I have visions of all these people all around the world scouring the streets for benches in order to join me 😀
      BTW quatrefoil is only my name for it based on the patterns (an ornamental design of four lobes or leaves as used in architectural tracery, resembling a flower or clover leaf.)

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

