Autumn Arrives

The Autumnal Equinox on September 23 heralded the beginning of autumn in the northern hemisphere which usually brings a change in the temperatures and the beginning of the chemical processes that take place in the trees as the seasons change from summer to winter. One of the best places to see the beautiful colours in autumn is Sheffield Park in West Sussex, a wooded landscape park of about 74 hectares, laid out in the mid and late 18th century by Lancelot Brown. Features include four lakes, waterfalls and cascades, and an arboretum with a mix of native and exotic species including conifers, azaleas, rhododendrons and acers. The arrival time of the vibrant displays varies every year, but they are generally at their best in October, when the acers turn burnished red.

DSCN5513

Enjoy the colour, it only occurs for a brief period each autumn.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

32 thoughts on “Autumn Arrives”

  1. Lovely shot, Jude, reminiscent of those North American vistas of colour. Not much brown here at the moment, although the beech hedge is turning.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. No. One thing I do like about living in the UK is the changing of the seasons. I might not like winter very much [make that at all] but spring and autumn make up for it.

  2. You are seducing me with colour and that’s not allowed! 😦

    You were hill climbing today? Ankle ok? The clouds rolled in last night unfortunately because I had a newish rose garden in mind. It’ll keep! 🙂
    No progress with the house?

    1. Ankle strapped, walking shoes on and pole taken. I was v. e. r. y careful where I put my foot, which wasn’t easy as the route I was on is full of scattered quartzite rocks! Maybe I’ll go somewhere a little more gentle tomorrow 🙂

  3. A gorgeous photo Jude! This time of year is so lovely … and so short. I’m hoping the weather continues to stay nice so we can enjoy as much of this beauty as possible!

    1. The odd thing about the ankle is that it is most painful in the morning! You’d think after lying flat all night it would be fine. Walking on it is OK though I am a little more cautious. Saw a bit more colour changes today, but not a lot. Also found some fungi and moss so I may go back out tomorrow with the camera.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

