Wightwick Manor

Wightwick Manor (pronounced wittick) was built in 1887 for the Manders family who were Wolverhampton paint, varnish and ink manufacturers. The house is designed in the ‘Old English’ style of timber and brick and influenced by the Aesthetic and Arts and Crafts movement.

Here the ‘grid‘ is definitely the star.

P9191879

P9191934

P9191912

Published by

Heyjude

I now live in the UK, but spent several years travelling and then living in South Africa. I now look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

35 thoughts on “Wightwick Manor”

    1. I really wanted to visit Dudmaston, only found out it is closed on a Saturday! Seeing as I was more than half way to Wolverhampton I continued to this place. What a building!

  1. I used to have to go to Wolverhampton, to visit an ex- sister-in-law. I would sooner have visited this house instead. The chimneys remind me of similar ones on the Holkham estate, probably built around the same time.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. You should see the inside! A bit too dark for photos, but the bedrooms had William Morris fabric (not wallpaper) on the walls! And yes, you can make all sorts of blunders with English names 🙂

        1. And yet Gatwick is pronounced Gat Wick or are we all pronouncing it wrong? Funny thing about pronunciation is that words keep changing. I have noticed recently on adverts that IKEA which was always I KEA now seems to be a short I. as in Ithaca. [shakes head in confusion…]

  2. A very unique approach to “grid” … the detail in this manor is quite striking.
    I’m puzzled by the pronunciation though. Is this a ‘real’ pronunciation or the result of a local accent?

    1. The cherubs are tiles above an external doorway. The gardens were pretty much over, but I did get a few photos that will appear on the flower blog some time soon 🙂

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

