Monochromatic

Cones by Bert Flugelman
Cones by Bert Flugelman

A monochromatic image is composed of a gradient of a single colour, and has an emphasis on texture and composition. Whilst this sculpture in Canberra is not entirely monochromatic it does demonstrate the power of a simple colour scheme and shape and form.

(The stainless steel cones (1976-1982) from this angle reflect the ground and the trees in the National Gallery Sculpture Garden, Canberra, Australia)

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

30 thoughts on “Monochromatic”

  1. Stunning, literally –
    as you say, the two so different materials being used together is so effective –
    the different textures and the ways that the different materials reflect or seem to absorb the light is really remarkable!
    Emma 🙂

    1. You are right it does look like two very different materials but it’s all stainless steel Emma, the way I captured it the reflections of the ground and the trees became part of the sculpture. Being a dull day may have helped create this effect.

      1. I didn’t understand this comment when I saw it because the photo didn’t load. I thought you were being ‘cryptic’. It’s here in my ‘drop downs’ though. No, I much prefer the ‘cork’ version, but it’s a nice bit of sculpture to play with. 🙂

  2. I am intrigued Jude. I’m afraid the first thing I thought of was what kind of reflections one might make that could reflect multiple times. I’m a trouble maker. 🙂

    1. This was taken on a pretty dull day and the granddaughter and son were obviously getting bored so I only managed to get a few shots. I liked this the best. Always prefer to go to places like this with another photographic obsessive [you know anyone like that? she enquires innocently] or alone.

  3. That sculpture looks so different in that light Jude, it was a bright sunny day and no ground reflections in my photo. Well seen and an interesting take on the challenge

    1. Only goes to prove the point that varying your angle on a subject can alter the impact of the photograph. I’m much more conscious of that now than I used to be.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

