More Post Boxes

Some of you following this blog may remember my recent Post Boxes. I thought that I had seen a blue one somewhere, but couldn’t remember which country it was in. Whilst searching through the digital shoebox for something else I came across it. Voilà! Or maybe that should be ‘Há’ as we are in Lisbon. (Hopefully Jo will be along to correct me).

Lisbon – Bairro Alto (Largo do Carmo)

There are over 800 different types of post boxes in the UK alone. Perhaps you have an unusual one to share? If you do then please post it and link to this one in the comments or via a pingback. I’d love to see it.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

65 thoughts on “More Post Boxes”

  1. The Beetley one is very dull, I’m afraid. I think I have seen yellow ones somewhere. Amsterdam perhaps? My memory is shaky, on post boxes.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. I believe Australia might have yellow ones, but I didn’t photograph any. It seems a lot of countries are doing away with mail boxes altogether. You have to go to the PO to post AND collect mail.

    1. You did indeed! And what beauties they are. I am so excited to see the Edward VII post box. We must have some of those here surely? Thanks Geriatrx for sharing these 🙂

  2. I could tell you were inLisbon straight away Jude. Perhaps I should take a photo of our group mail boxes in Canada. They are ‘interesting’. However I will add that Calgary, Vancouver and Toronto just made the top 5 of most livable cities in the world.

    1. That would be nice Sue. As for your cities I can only vouch for Vancouver and Toronto. Both lovely places with loads to do. Though Vancouver gets my vote as I love Vancouver Island

      1. Yes both the city of Vancouver on the mainland and Vancouver Island are gorgeous spots. A very different pace between the two I must say. We were on the island for our nephew’s wedding two weeks ago. Glorious!

    1. it’s a pretty colour. I wonder if it is for airmail letters as there are red ones which have ‘normal’ written on them. Where’s Jo when you need her?

    1. Haha… no it’s OK Sylvia, I won’t put any more pressure on your day, but IF you happen to come across an interesting post box in passing, then I wouldn’t mind having a look…

  3. Hi Jude, Australia has red post boxes same as the UK. I remember searching for a post box in southern Ireland with no success until someone mentioned that they are yellow there. Great to see different ones. The standard Aus ones are very boring but there is one old one that I’ll try to get a photo of in the next few days. Thanks for this fun post and subject.

  4. I wouldn’t dream of correcting my betters, Jude! 🙂 Sorry I’m a bit slow getting here. Have you landed safely and got yourself settled in? Not wine time yet- I’m just off to do the tea.
    A very distinguished post box, indeed. I forgot to look for that yellow one I have.
    Have a good weekend! 🙂

    1. So is that the correct word? And is the blue box for airmail letters only? I am still waiting patiently for the yellow post box…

      Settled in, spent afternoon at Wisley so loads of flower photos. A very hot day! I am exhausted. A bit of a run in with the BIG rabbit. He is very skittish. Give me cats any day!

      1. I would swop you! I went to t’ai chi. 🙂 Sticky and warm here but overcast.
        Yes, it is. I just checked in my Portuguese dictionary. Not sure about the significance of the blue. I have posted postcards in the Algarve which were never seen again 😦

    1. We are more than likely ‘slightly’ batty people… I wouldn’t worry about it. Worry more when you start noticing every post box and bench you pass. I think I saw a King George post-box the other day and now I need to go take a photo of it….

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

