Grey/Gray Door

Only just in time for Ailsa’s Grey theme this week, I spotted this grey door on my way home after gathering photos for the monthly seasonal challenge. Alternatively I could have simply taken a picture of the sky as it is a particularly solid pale grey lump today. Sigh…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Grayling Cottage – Ludlow

As you can see it is very difficult to get a straight line in Ludlow. Oh, and this is my 475th post on this blog. Just thought I’d share that… 🙂

Edit: As my grey door appears to be a blue door  (and I accept that it is a blue-grey, even though I know the door is more charcoal grey) I have been back to take another image with a different camera, and here it is. To be honest it is STILL not as dark a grey as it is in reality.

grey door 2
Grayling Cottage – again!
Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

57 thoughts on “Grey/Gray Door”

  1. Julie always says that I don’t see colours correctly. She may be right, as I get more blue from this door than grey. Always interesting, how we all see colours a little differently.
    A grayling is a fish of course. Does this cottage have any angling connections?
    I note that it is number 13, and today is the 13th. A happy coincidence?
    Regards as always, Pete. x

        1. The color discrepancy that I most often deal with is blue versus purple. Various wildflowers with blue in their common name, like bluebonnets, bluebells, and blue curls, strike me as more violet or purple. Similarly, I’ve had commenters refer to something in one of my photographs as blue when I see it as purple or violet.

        2. Blue, purple, violet, grey… maybe it’s the new camera that is the problem. I shall go and take another picture with my other camera and see if there is any difference 😀

    1. It is definitely grey Pete, though I admit it does come across as a blue-grey in the photo. No idea why it is named after a fish, though you can go fishing in the Teme down the road. It is a holiday let. And clever you for noticing the date/number! Purely coincidental of course 😉

    1. Hah! Thanks Sylvia, I am a bit OCD about horizontals and symmetry – a BLUE-GREY then. Actually it was the play on words that grabbed me – Grayling Cottage – but it is a grey door, honestly 😀

        1. But you could still calibrate the monitor, should you so desire…(and I know the answer to that is a resounding No!!)

        2. It was calibrated by the bloke who gave it to me, Sue. And judging by some of the other comments, some of us do have problems with ‘blue’ monitors. I think I will leave well-enough alone!

        1. Not RAW. Have done but I don’t have time or patience to work on every photo as I use a lot. Maybe if I reduce posts to a single photo I might have another go.

        2. OK, just been over for a ganders…. What white balance setting did you have on each camera? What metering mode did you use on each? And presumably the light was different on each occasion? Right, that’s the Spanish Inquisition over (for the moment!)

        3. Phew! I’m not that technical Sue! I’m sticking to the auto settings at the moment to see how the Olympus compares with the Fuji so I have no idea! After sunset for first image, but it is a dark narrow street so not a lot of light, settings WB Auto, F/4, ISO-1600. 2nd image this morning, very grey sky and raining, settings WB Auto, F/3.2, ISO-100. I did apply an art filter to the first image but didn’t change the colour.

        4. If you get a very sunny day (😳), try putting WB to sunny, if a cloudy day, WB on cloudy, as well as the same shots on auto…you might (possibly will) be surprised by the results…. Just a thought. Anyway, we’re meeting up soon, I hope! But I won’t talk techy stuff!

        5. I used to do that with the Fuji. Need to find out how to do that on this camera. I’m sure I shall be picking your brains… eeugh, that sounds horrid!

    1. Grrr… opened a can of worms here. Went past the door tonight and it is definitely dark grey, obviously this new camera has a mind of its own!

  2. Congratulations on 475th: you two are well and truly wedded.

    I love the simplicity of the door, and the mutative power of grey. I used to think grey was grey until I tried to assemble an ensemble: a feast of mismatches it turned out to be.

    1. I have been past the door tonight and it is definitely much greyer than this image shows. I will go and take another photo tomorrow with a different camera.

  3. I see blue, too, but maybe it’s as hard to find gray in Ludlow as it is to find a straight line 😀. I like these doors, and I hope tomorrow brings you sunny skies, Jude ☀️☀️☀️🌞

    1. Tomorrow is today and the heavy rain that was threatened to arrive yesterday arrived at around 4 am and still at it! The door is much greyer than this image shows, almost charcoal grey, so I’m not sure what is going on with the camera, though it does give me nice blue skies!

    1. I have a ‘friend’ whose surname is Grey, and they nicknamed their daughter ‘grayling’ so every time I pass this cottage I think of them. They even considered staying here once until I pointed out that it is a very small cottage with rather steep stairs. And I love your comment about the FF 🙂

  4. What a can of worms you have created with this one Jude. I really have to join in as before I even read any comments I saw Blue. So you will have to take it again with your “other” camera to prove your point. (and shut us all up… ) But, whatever, congrats on your ongoing numbers, amazing how they mount up…

    1. New image uploaded and it is greyer, though still not as dark grey as my eyes see it! What with cameras changing colours and monitors changing colours it is a wonder any of us see the exact same colour!

      1. Went for a look see Jude, yes that image is more dark grey. The owners must wonder “who is this person that keeps taking photos of our door!!!!”

  5. This post is a perfect example of how the comments are as entertaining as the original post 🙂
    I am forever frustrated that the camera does not *see* what I see … so I’m willing to believe the door is grey and it makes me laugh that you keep going back with a different camera trying to prove it 🙂
    After all, it’s called Grayling Cottage. They wouldn’t put just ANY colour on their front door 😉

    1. Thank you Jo, this post has been a source of entertainment. Funny isn’t how a ‘fill-in’ post (I wasn’t going to post anything for the travel theme this week until I spotted the door on the way home) generates more discussion than a post that has taken days to write and edit! There has to be a lesson there!

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

