Dear Passport…

We’ve been together for 10 years now and you need to be replaced.  But before I consign you to the bottom of the drawer, let’s take a journey through time and see where you have been…

2003

dublin IRELAND
october
Dublin Canal
Dublin Canal
Paris france
december
reflections of palais royal
reflections of palais royal

2005

toronto to vancouver Canada
August
Via Canada
Via Canada

2006

Malta and Sicily
May
Upper Barakka Gardens
Upper Barakka Gardens Valletta, Malta
lemon ceramics
Ceramics from Sicily

2007

Boston, New England and cape cod USA
October
park
Park in Boston
Bath Covered Bridge
Bath Covered Bridge
provincetown women
“They Also Faced the Sea” – Provincetown Harbour 2003-2005

2008

South Africa and Namibia
April
Beach Huts
Beach Huts, Muizenberg, False Bay
leopard3
Leopard in Namibia
Florida USA
september
miami skyline
Miami skyline
India
December
Mausoleum and Minarets
Mausoleum and Minarets

2009

California usa
February
Golden Gate bridge, San Francisco, USA
Golden Gate bridge, San Francisco, USA
Geneva and Montreux switzerland
september
Place du Bourg-de-Four
Place du Bourg-de-Four
Montreux lakeside
Promenade at Montreux
Prague and Cesky Krumlov Czech Republic
october
P - Prague
Prague – Charles Bridge
Cesky Krumlov castle view
Cesky Krumlov castle view

2010

San Diego usa
february

night 1

Canyons Circle usa
march
Sunset Point - a good viewpoint
Sunset Point – a good viewpoint in Bryce Canyon
Paris france
May

Café Esmeralda

Vancouver canada
September

coal-harbour

Vancouver island canada
October
Tofino - Vancouver Island
Tofino – Vancouver Island

2012

San Francisco usa
february
Mission District Mural
Mission District Mural
Yosemite valley usa
February

 mirror-lake-boulder

Lisbon  portugal
May
Telhados - Rooftops
Telhados – Rooftops
Cascais portugal
May
Lighthouse in Cascais
Lake Bled slovenia
June
Pletna Boat
Pletna Boat
Ljubljana slovenia
June
cafe culture
Ljubljana
venice italy
June
Washing
Washing

The passport was replaced shortly before my trip to Australia / New Zealand at the end of 2014. I doubt that I shall visit as many countries in the next ten years as I have during this phase, but I hope there will be a few, after all there is nothing like visiting another country to get the inspiration flowing for a travel photographer.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

78 thoughts on “Dear Passport…”

    1. Still one or two places to write about, but I think I may have covered most of them. My blog will hopefully bring these places alive for me again in the future.

  1. Oh I love this post, Jude. It’s like those unfolding postcard wallets that you used to get with a myriad views of Wales. But yours is so much more wonderful – what places you have see. You’ve reminded me, too, of how bereft I felt when I had to replace my 1990s passport which was filled with evidence of my comings and goings in Africa. I loved having stamps from Lusaka. The immigration people were so lovely there. 🙂

    1. My older passport was full of interesting stamps too, this last one was quite boring really apart from the India Visa! And of course no European stamps 😦

  2. A great post and some classic places! I’ve just had to replace my passport – it felt a little poignant as if you’re somehow leaving those places behind. At the moment it’s bare, waiting for my first journey of the new era!

    1. That’s sort of what I felt Susan. It seemed a shame just to file it away without paying some respect to where it had taken me. How exciting to have the new, blank one waiting for the next journey though 🙂

      1. Yes, you’re right. It’s also interesting to see photos from the era, especially as time passes. I visited China and Hong Kong on my old passport, but I’d guess they’ve both changed more than I can imagine.

  3. Gorgeous post Jude. I LOVE the Venice washing shot. How the heck do they get the washing up there in the first place? As for those colourful huts in Muizenberg, I think I might have seen those a few times myself 🙂

  4. This is a great idea for a post. 🙂 You have been to a wide variety of places – some I have been to, and some that are on my list. I always think it is a shame that we don’t get our passports stamped when we visit European countries now (or maybe you can request it?) – if we did, mine would be quite full!

  5. We were only discussing this recently. I was actually wondering if it will be worth renewing mine when it runs out. As long as we have Ollie, we are unlikely to leave him, or the country. Somewhere, I still have my original, old-style passport. They cut the corners off, so I could keep it for the memories.
    That has all the ‘best’ stamps in it.
    This would be a good idea for one of your challenges Jude, though your extensive travels might make (some of) us feel as if we have hardly travelled.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. I was saddened when they stopped stamping passports in Europe, I like looking at all the pretty stamps, one of my earlier passports has loads of stamps, more recent passports have loads of empty pages left. I think you should only have to renew a passport when you run out of room!

      1. My first passport (the old blue UK one) is quite exciting because it has stamps from Europe, and a visa and residence permit for other countries. When I had to renew it, because it contained a current visa, it was fastened to my new one with a fancy ribbon and seal – I felt very important!

  6. What a wonderful memento of all your travels Jude – your passport has taken you to some beautiful places over the last 10 years. How did you find Geneva and Lisbon? Both possibilities for us next year. Have been through Geneva by train but never stayed there – though it might make a good base for Lake Leman and even going up into the mountains. We had lunch once by the lake in Montreux – it was wonderful (we’d caught the Golden Pass train over from Lucerne and Interlaken) 🙂

    1. Geneva is VERY expensive. I had a simple salad there that cost €20! One nice thing though is that you get a free travel pass from the hotel you stay in which is a bonus for getting around and transport is easy to use. A nice old city and good trips on the lake to other towns along the lakeside including Yvoire in France. I have heard that Annecy in France is a good place to stay in and you can access Geneva from there.

      Lisbon on the other hand is very reasonable and a city you can walk around (as long as you don’t mind the hills and cobblestones). Good transport system, even getting to Cascais and Sintra by train for a day out. I’d probably stay in Cascais and visit Lisbon on a day trip or two.

      1. Thanks Jude for such a comprehensive reply – very useful! 20 Euro for a salad my goodness. We have stayed a few times in Switzerland but I don’t remember it being quite that pricey. We could always buy bread and cheese from Migros, which I did when backpacking as a student in Switzerland! I have heard wonderful reports of Annecy too and it has the lake and mountains, which we love. We’ll be on a tight time frame though so it may be easier to stay somewhere like Geneva with its good travel connections especially if you can get a free travel pass from the hotel. Our daughter has recently been staying in Sintra (her London housemate comes from there and she stayed with her and her parents for a few days). She says it’s gorgeous and you can catch the train in to Lisbon (which she also did as a day trip). I actually love the sound of the hills and cobblestones so that doesn’t put me off. Thanks for all the info 🙂

    1. Oh, yes, New York is on the list – I promised to take my daughter there for her 21st birthday but it never happened – maybe I’ll manage it for her 40th next year!

  7. What a good idea for a blog post! I may use this myself except my list will be much shorter! great pictures, you have gone to many interesting places!

  8. That’s a lot of places and memories! Your passport is very well travelled I must day 🙂 Hope the replacement is able to do as much is not more! Happy travel!

  9. What an amazing summary of your passport’s life! I’m guessing it was quite the trip down memory lane for you too 🙂 I hope the next passport has an equally exciting life ahead 🙂

    …. LOVE the photo of the leopard. What a great picture!!

  10. What a great way to showcase your travels Jude. What an amazing memory bank that little blue book contains. So many for you to dip into and share with us. Did you have a favourite that you yearn to go back to?

    1. That’s an interesting question PP. I don’t often return to places as there are so many other places to see, but I do love Canada and would love to go back there and explore the eastern Atlantic Provinces.

      1. I missed out on Canada, the only bit I saw was the Canadian side of Niagara Falls. Would love to see more. But then like you say so much to see and, sadly, I think that part of my travelling life is over. But there is still plenty to see here and in NZ…

        1. Although I love to explore I now find that the actual travelling part is a pain, especially long-haul flights. Too many people crowded into too small a space all in the name of profit. I much preferred my early days of overland travel.

    1. The inspiration theme had me struggling until I realised that travel has been the inspiration for me to take photographs since I got my first camera.

  11. Jude what a brilliant idea for a post! I loved seeing all the places you have been and then really smiled when I got to spots you have written about since I began to follow you. You have seen many beautiful parts of this world. Best of luck filling up your new passport with memories.

  12. What a great idea for a blog post, it’s sometimes easy to forget how far we travel in ten years. Bon voyage with your new one.

    1. Thanks for the wishes, but I suspect it won’t. I have had a great 10 years of travelling, but maybe it is time to explore more of the countries around me that don’t require a passport 🙂

  13. It seems like you’ve had occasion to sing along with the Beach Boys: “Round, round, round, round, I get around….” Now that you’ve been to various other places in the United States, you’ll have to come to Texas one spring to see the wildflower displays.

  14. Geez, you get about a bit, dontcha?

    I wish I’d thought of this – it’s brilliant. I just replaced my passport earlier this year. Couldn’t possibly compete with your mighty itinerary (or your fabulous photos) but there’s a few interesting places in there. 🙂

    1. As you can see I had the idea last year, but it has taken me all this time to actually create the post. Originally I had several images for each destination and that was becoming the problem. A nice reminder of a decade of travel courtesy in the main to my OH and his writing skills. 🙂

  15. Wow! That’s a lot of amazing places you visted in 10 years Jude! A few I’ve visited as you know, but many not. I so enjoy your blog for that very reason, reading about your travels and seeing them through your eyes and fantastic photographs. I need to change my passport next year by March (changed it when I remarried in 2006) but I won’t have quite so many places stamped 😉 The one I hope to get in there is that safari, but I’m sure it will be after I get my new one. At least I’ll get the chipped kind at long last so will be able to go through the same line as hubby 🙂

    1. You’ll need at least 6 months on your passport so apply for it early as you won’t have enough time left on your old one. They give you that time on the new passport so you don’t lose out. I changed mine when I got married too, which is why my previous Aussie trip wasn’t on it, but this one has the chip so I can use the scanners etc which makes it much easier. Where are you going on safari? Sounds exciting!! And you know me and my love for Africa 🙂

      And thank you for your very kind words 🙂

      1. Yes, I need to remember that, thanks for the reminder Jude! I said to hubby since it is our 10th wedding anniversary next year that it would be a great excuse to take ‘that’ safari we’ve talked about for so long. I intend to bend your ear more about this when the time comes. Nothing planned as yet, so who knows. But I do really hope sooner rather than later, but not until next year at the earliest. Still hoping to get to St Ives in a couple of weeks…will keep you posted!
        And you are very welcome…I mean every word 🙂 xx

  16. Just brilliant, Jude! I love it 🙂 Though I knew I really shouldn’t look. 😦 How to make a person feel like a stop-at-home! But seriously, you have some superb shots. Pick a favourite place? I’m guessing SA. 🙂

    1. Thanks Jo. Although SA is a favourite, Canada is one place I’d return to, but I must admit long-haul gets less and less attractive the older I become.

  17. What a great idea for a blog post! Especially when you’ve done as much travelling as you have – great photos too. I too have less of a wanderlust than I’ve had in the past although you can never tell how long that will last.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

