Twilight

Twilight is the time of day that is half way between daylight and darkness. It is when the earth’s surface is neither completely lit nor completely dark. Here in the far northern hemisphere twilight lasts much longer in the summer months and sometimes it never gets properly dark. In Norway and other countries close to the north pole it is known as the ‘Midnight Sun’.

At the end of twilight dusk falls and a bat appears in my courtyard every evening to fly in circles feeding on the night-time bugs. When I see ‘Batty’ I know it is summer.

dusk
Twilight over the Atlantic – 21:45 June 07 2015

twilight has long been popular with photographers, who refer to it as ‘sweet light’, and painters, who refer to it as the blue hour, after the French expression: l’heure bleue.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

39 thoughts on “Twilight”

  1. The header shot is a lovely mix of colours Jude, like an abstract painting.
    We always see the Beetley Bats as the heralds of ‘real’ summer too.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

  2. If I can recast your first sentence in an etymological light: the reason English calls it twilight is because it’s the transition between two kinds of “light”, day and night.

    1. Thank you Steve. I should get you to edit my posts, you have such a delightful grasp of language. I learn so much from your observations 🙂

  3. I love twilight, its nearly here now, I have the occasional batty visiting but not like in my old house. I saw one in the afternoon at Knightshayes last week, watched it for ages flitting around. Of course I tried to take a photo but all I got was a blur!

  4. I agree with Sue. It’s a pretty sweet photo. Dawn and twilight are definitely my favourite simply because the sky is so beautiful … like this photo.

    1. To be honest I never realised that twilight occurs twice a day – after sunset (when the sun disappears below the horizon) and before sunrise (when the sun appears above the horizon). I just keep on learning more and more things through blogging.

      1. I don’t think I’ve ever heard anyone refer to the morning hours as twilight, but the soft dawn light is my favourite and the beautiful sunrises can often occur. It feels like a promise of a day full of potential 🙂

  5. Twilight so beautifully portrayed here Jude (my favourite time of day!) Love your narrative to go along with your beautiful photograph, as always… xx

  6. My wonderful late father always claimed this magical time of day was known in his homeland of Scotland as “the gloaming.” Loved that and miss him so.

    The gloaming comes, the day is spent, The sun goes out of sight, And painted is the occident With purple sanguine bright.”
    ―Alexander Hume

  7. I can’t get enough of those kind of skies Jude , but there just don’t seem to have been too many of them recently ! Twilight is here . and then gone . at this time of year – I can’t quite believe the Winter Solstice is around the corner . A really lovely capture !

    1. Thanks Poppy. We have had a few lovely skies recently, I keep dashing out to capture them in the cold, but not today – cloud and fog 😦 but soon the shortest day will have been and gone and spring is around the corner 😀

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

