Bench series #26

For the month of June I’m looking for a bench with ‘Art Effects’ 

lake burley griffin
Split screen, monochrome and colour – Lake Burly Griffin, Canberra

(This month I want to see photos with some post-processing – use your imagination, it can be subtle or bold as long as it includes a bench or even part of a bench!)

If you would like to join in with the Bench photo challenge then please take a look at my Bench Series page. No complicated rules, just a bench and a camera required 🙂

  • Create your own post and title it Bench Series: June
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag ‘bench series’ so everyone can find the benches easily in the WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new bench theme comes out on the first Sunday in July.

This is your last chance to post your arty benches as next week we move on to another theme 🙂

And for those of you who are interested here is the original:

DSCF8549
Cropped at right-hand side to reposition the Carillion more to the right and the pathway on the left. Contrast adjusted, then Creative effect ‘Helena’ applied in Pixlr which splits the image into two B&W sections and a colour section in the middle.

My Picks of the Week:

Karen has been playing around with arty effects. See if there is anything you fancy here.
Jo sneaked in with some delightful edits at the end of last week and only a slight hint of rebelliousness.
Aletta has produced a pretty effect with her bench
Gilly has gone Gothic on me and Lisa (Daily Musings) has created a comic-book effect that is rather impressive. Finally one from Sylvia which is not only an amazing photo, but also beautifully enhanced.

Thanks to everyone for joining in with the creative benches, I have enjoyed seeing the results of you clever, artistic people and realise I need to play with learn how to use software editing packages.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

42 thoughts on “Bench series #26”

  1. You’re an early riser today, Jude! Or is this scheduled and I’m talking to myself? 🙂 (invariably that’s the best- I don’t get such smart answers 🙂 I’ve just been seriously busy boring Meg and am now wondering how on earth I’m going to make this weeks walk as interesting as last week 😦 )
    I like this effect very much. It really does enhance the original. Is it another of those ‘quick fix, easy to do ones’? Remember, I’m a dummy 🙂 )

    1. Talking to yourself Jo – I find that way no-one interrupts 😉
      To answer your last question – yes this is a pre-set effect in Pixlr so it is just a case of choosing the right image and applying the effect! I think it works well on plants as well as landscapes. Easy peasy 😀

    1. Canberra, capital of Australia so a very important city, but not one that is particularly well-thought of by most Aussies as it is not near the coast. The lake is absolutely lovely and the museums are pretty good too. Not to mention the Snowy Mountains a spit and a throw away… 😉

    1. I only selected it from a set installed in the software so not that creative really, but I do think it works well on this particular photo. Thanks 🙂

  2. Thank goodness I can relax back into unenhancement! But my life will never be the same again. Thanks for an interesting month. I must tell you I really like the way you introduce other bench posts.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

