Bench series #25

For the month of June I’m looking for a bench with ‘Art Effects’ 

kent railway 50s
Kent Railway Station platform reliving the 1950s  – india ink in colour

(This month I want to see photos with some post-processing – use your imagination, it can be subtle or bold as long as it includes a bench or even part of a bench!)

If you would like to join in with the Bench photo challenge then please take a look at my Bench Series page. No complicated rules, just a bench and a camera required 🙂

  • Create your own post and title it Bench Series: June
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag ‘bench series’ so everyone can find the benches easily in the WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new bench theme comes out on the first Sunday in July.

And for those of you who are interested here is the original, not a great image I’ll agree, but sometimes a little creative editing can restore something you would like to keep:

DSCF2623
Through a grimy train window. Image straightened. Contrast adjusted then applied the India effect in Pixlr with a 40% opacity to allow the colours to show through.

My Picks of the Week:

Take a look at Issy’s impressionist bench
or maybe Pauline’s water-colour is more to your liking?
I have a soft spot for Elaine’s dreamy image, now that would look nice in a conservatory.
Ruth blames for me for wasting enjoying time spent applying different effects to a few of her bench photos – see which you like best
and Meg accuses me of unleashing a demon! What can I say? 

As always, thanks to everyone who has joined in. I find it fascinating to see what benches you all have in your digital shoe-box and how creative you can be this month 🙂

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

40 thoughts on “Bench series #25”

    1. Thank you! I liked the image, but wasn’t happy with the dirty windows, so worked to get rid of them. I used to bin photos like this until I realised that some post-processing could really change them.

  1. I love that pram in the original!
    From the selection, I have to go with the ‘Impressionist’ bench, as it does look similar to a Monet. I prefer the straight original actually, but I know that wasn’t your brief.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. Prams where babies were put outside in to sleep in the fresh air! Complete with a hot-water bottle in winter when the apron could be covered in snow!

  2. What a fab pram, babies must have been so much more comfortable in those than in the little buggy things today. A really good edit Jude, even the dustbin has blended in 🙂

    1. Thanks Gilly – I was happy that most of those smears disappeared to which was my intention. Those prams were super, a baby could stay in one until two years old and sleep very comfortably too. Of course they weren’t designed for taking on buses or cars, but excellently sprung for a long walk. I used to baby-sit for a couple who had a Silver Cross pram (similar to this one) and I walked miles with their babies.

  3. It’s nice to see a ‘proper’ pram! We have several photos of me in my ‘proper’ pram, and I also had one (Silver Cross, bought second hand and possibly the best value item I had when starting off on this parenting lark!) which my parents used to walk miles with through the countryside. It was then passed to my sister for her children. 🙂

    1. Funny how so many of us are drawn to the pram – my reason for capturing the bench in this instance. They were very expensive though. I remember my brother bought a doll’s size one for his daughter which cost more than the real pram I bought for my first-born!

  4. Those were the days Jude when the baby couldn’t/wouldn’t sleep pop them in the pram and go for a long walk and really handy, as you say, for leaving out in the fresh air with a mossie net across. Pays to hang onto these photos by editing you have brought back a piece of history.

    1. My own pram wasn’t one of these (they were very expensive) but I could still lie down properly in it and sleep. None of the complicated folding up issues either!

        1. I thought you must have a very good memory Jude. I, unfortunately, only have one baby photo, the one that is on my “about” page.

    1. I only started experimenting with art effects when I had a photo which I liked but wasn’t very good quality and I found that by converting it to a watercolour it looked quite beautiful and was saved from the recycle bin. Proper post-editing takes a lot of time though and I always publish far too many photos in my posts, so basic editing and resizing is the most I do normally. Perhaps when I get my new camera I shall take time to capture fewer, but better, images 🙂

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

