Home Made

One of the perks of staying in a self-catering holiday cottage in the UK is the little gifts that welcome you to your new home for the week. The best (and often the most expensive) leave you with sufficient goodies to last a couple of days such as orange juice, eggs, bread, cheese, coffee and a bottle of wine! Along with scones, jam and cream in the south-west country.

homemade2Our perfectly charming, though tiny, very reasonable priced cottage in which we are currently staying close to the rugged west coast provided charming home-made jams and chutney, a lemon drizzle cake (sorry that’s long gone), fresh free-range eggs and a bowl full of chocolates. Along with a vase of stargazer lilies in the lounge and a jug of spearmint in the kitchen.

We have been thoroughly spoilt!

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

64 thoughts on “Home Made”

  1. What a lovely place to stay. Any recipe for elderberry and apple jelly? If you don’t have one, Mr Google probably will! I had a favourite B&B in my working days. It was called Bumblebrook, near Bega, and they offered similar delights and rural surroundings. There had to be some pleasures in an itinerant working life. Are you house hunting or holidaying? Or both?

    1. No recipe, though I did see one for elderflower sorbet somewhere, but I’m damned if I can remember where!

      Holiday AND house hunting. And enjoying both aspects of it 🙂

    1. I’ll write more about the cottage once I am home. We have limited WiFi here as we had to buy a mobile thingy. Apple chutney is delish! Had some with sausages today for lunch in St Just – very nice. Legs aching with all the walking! Even re-visited Cape Cornwall to get the photos I lost, but I didn’t go back up the summit, still very windy.

        1. Last full day tomorrow – off to visit Zennor which isn’t far away to see a church with a mermaid and a little museum – oh and have lunch at the Tinner’s Arms hopefully 🙂 Seen a few good prospects this visit. I have a GOOD feeling, but don’t want to jump the gun!

        1. Perfect for a week, but we both love our own space – and OH needs a LOT of space for all his guitars 😀

          Nice to see you popping in BTW. Hope you are doing OK.

        2. Well don’t disappear altogether, I rather miss your honest and oft controversial opinions. You are a breath of fresh air M-R and I send you loads of love ❤ ❤
          BTW do you still attend the gym in your place?

        3. Naah – couldn’t afford it. Even with a discount it would’ve cost me $120 out of each pension payment. 😦

        4. Oh, that’s a shame if it helped with your back pain. How about the walking then? You see I DO miss you posting 😦

    1. Do you know that I can’t remember? I was thinking the other day how did I find it; possibly through Sawdays, I use their website a lot to pick nice cottages and places with a garden. It’s s true delight for a couple, beautifully styled, immaculate, clean and comfortable.
      http://www.stennackcottage.co.uk/

    1. Stay tuned – cream tea on its way later in the month 😀

      We were in Penzance for one week then I added an extra week in Pendeen, right on the edge so’s to speak. A beautiful location, between the moors and the sea. Lots of mines, sunsets and hilly walks! I don’t want to leave…

  2. Nice when the renters make an effort. It makes you want to go back, and is good marketing too, as you will recommend the place to friends and family, or give great feedback on trip advisor. The small place we rented in Kent last year provided Jams, Wine, biscuits, free tickets for entry to Leeds Castle, and assorted bathroom stuff too. A small layout for a big return.
    Regards as always, Pete.

    1. That’s true Pete. I definitely recommend this one – very cute, immaculate and nicely styled and run by the owner so no big company involved. Saying that the previous week we had fantastic help by the company managing the house we were in when we hit a problem with the non-existent Ms WiFi. Fortunately I haven’t managed to do a bad holiday in the UK yet, though the flat in Keswick was uninspiring.

  3. How utterly quaint !!

    Interesting that you negelected to share even a photo of the lemon drizzle cake before it was ‘long gone’ …

    Will we see cottage photos ? Even rumpled beds have a certain charm when they are ‘cottage’.

    1. Sorry Sammy, by the time it occurred to me to take a photograph there wasn’t much to show, but keep watching, you are in for a treat later this month 😉

      And I don’t know about rumpled beds, but I do have a rabbit’s eye view through the windows to share.

  4. We’ve had similar experiences at almost all the airbnb places we’ve stayed at. There’s always some little treat waiting and it really enhances our stay. How lovely to have home made jams. Recently I bought a jar of home made fig and apple chutney and it is divine. I’m having it on everything! Good luck with the house hunting.

    1. I used to make a lot of my own things when my children were small, but other than meals I don’t do much now, easier to buy from the market.

    1. Oh, she was really nice, even allowed us to drop off our luggage in the morning as we were only transferring from ‘down the road’. Beautifully styled cottage too with a sweet garden and spots to sit out in (even a bench!). I could grow old in a house like that.

        1. Well, I hope you mean that! I have no travels planned for the rest of the year (so far) so I shall be using a lot of my Cornwall photos in posts 🙂

        2. That’s good… The year has almost gone, half way through now and I guess you will be really busy if you find your dream home. No time for travel then…

        3. Maybe, but I don’t want to jinx anything after last time when I got very excited and then very despondent when it fell through.

  5. Ooh, yum! I love marmalade (cumquat being my favourite) but I have to have it on cold toast with unmelted butter for some reason. I think because I got into marmalade on a sojourn around the UK and often the toast in the B&Bs was cold by the time I got to it.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

