WPC: Vivid

st ives
St Ives Harbour Beach
adjective
  1. producing powerful feelings or strong, clear images in the mind.
    memories of that evening were still vivid”
  2. (of a colour) intensely deep or bright.
    the rhododendron bush provides a vivid splash of mauve”

    I could have gone for a vivid flower for this week’s challenge, as I have seen quite a few this week, but this shot, taken today (Friday 5 June) in St Ives seemed to fit the challenge in more ways than one. Powerful feelings – so much going on in this photograph and intense colours – reds, blues, yellows, not to mention that sky.

    I’m a huge fan of LD’s work the host of this weeks photo challenge and his wonderful street photography, but to see his work in colour you must take a look at the way he visualises the VIVID festival of Sydney, Australia. Simply the best…

    Published by

    Heyjude

    I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

23 thoughts on “WPC: Vivid”

  1. St Ives hasn’t changed much Jude. The yellow stands out really well in this one.
    I looked at LD’s site. Some excellent images indeed.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

  2. Thanks for the kind words and joining in the challenge, Jude. It looks like you’re having some lovely sunshine. I hope it continues into the weekend for you. 🙂

  3. The yellow immediately strikes as vivid. If you shut your eyes though and think of red, then op en your eyes and look at your shot again, it’s surprising how much red is there. A good trick someone once taught me. 👍

    1. Warm in the sunshine, but a chilly wind off the sea. Same today, but I’m happy if the sun is shining no matter what the temperature is 😎

  4. So much going on in this photo. I clicked and enlarged it and was fascinated with the groups of people all busy doing there own thing, and those yellow brollies just pop. Nice take on this theme Jude.

    1. I loved the normality of the scene. The two men chatting, the dog walker, the family, the boat trip seller asleep at the kiosk. LD does amazing street photography.

  5. Draco’s post is phenomenal, isn’t it, Jude? And I was astounded to see that they had those same delicately ghostly frocks as I saw in the cloisters at Durham for Lumiere 2013. I wonder what this November will bring.
    Hope you’re having a good time down there in the sunshine (and happy hunting 🙂 )

    1. I thought I recognised those dresses! And yes, I love LD’s work – his photos of the VIVID festival each year are stunning and I am grateful that he shares them. I love his sense of humour too on his B&W stuff. A very talented photographer who inspires me with his work.

      We are having a wonderful time at the end of the world (well it seems like that as we are now right on the western edge). Beautiful sunshine, though a cold wind, but having a great time. Very close to the sea, and yesterday I went to find as lighthouse for you 🙂 Off to look for the Neolithic Chûn Quoit just now, on top of a hill not far from here so we are going to walk there!

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

