Field of Gold

Field of bright yellow rapeseed in flower (canola) under a blue sky near Ludlow, Shropshire. Rapeseed is grown for the production of animal feed, vegetable oil for human consumption, and biodiesel.

DSCF2788

Field of golden sun
A dazzling azure blue sky
Heat up the summer

The last time I saw this golden field was four years ago in 2011. A good example of crop rotation. Growing above head height I had to hold the camera above my head to get some of these shots. And the pollen causes my eyes to water and my nose to sneeze. I think it was worth it.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

45 thoughts on “Field of Gold”

  1. The rape is out in abundance around here too Jude, and looks equally marvellous. The pollen it produces is bad though, and has got to me too.
    Been up to one of your old haunts today, as you will see from my latest post
    Regards as always, Pete. x

  2. It was worth the trouble and the suffering, Jude, what a smashing photo. The other day I saw an equal image like your first one, (only without trees, just the yellow and the blue sky above) blown up as a centerpiece in a magazine with the title “The yellow season of the year”. I have looked around here, it’s not at all easy to find the right spot for an image like this. There is almost always something in the back or in the front, congratulation on your capture! (Don’t tell anyone where you were … 😉 )
    Best wishes from sunny and warm Cley again,
    Dina & co

    1. Thank you Dina. This field is practically in town so a bonus for photographing! It makes the landscape look so bright and cheerful.

  3. It certainly was worth it for me ~ your photos are great. I take lots of photos of rapeseed fields but they always disappoint me as they never look as bright as my vision of them. Yours on the other hand are true to their colour.

    1. I had to get out there and get some shots, I can see the field from my upstairs windows and was desperate for a blue sky day before I left for Cornwall.

    1. A brilliant splash of gold in the countryside, just seeing them makes you feel happy. You grow this stuff don’t you? Canada that is, where the name Canola comes from. Must be vast fields of it there.

      1. Yes there are. There is one place in particular that comes to mind. As you are driving, you crest this ridge and the valley below is a sea of gold. On a clear sunny day the view will take your breath away 🙂

  4. Fields of gold? Now that’s an earworm I don’t mind having for the day. (Although I have singing this morning so it probably won’t last long.) Thanks for the bright and cheery start to a wintry day.

  5. I did not know rapeseed was where we got canola oil. Now I need to find if/where it’s commercially cultivated in the States. The plant looks like some of our ‘wild’ stuff, but I think not because I’ve never seen a field crop.

    1. Close-up the flower looks like that of Honesty or Phlox, but rapeseed comes from the Brassica family so the flower will look like that of cauliflower or cabbages that have gone to flower I suppose.

  6. I think it was worth it too – but I’m not suffering for your art! The one with two trees and clouds above the field of gold would’ve satisfied me. But thank you.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

