Lingering Look at Architecture: Bridges

Dawn of “The Day After” runs a monthly architecture challenge as well as her windows. May  is the month for Bridges.

I like photographing bridges, many of which have great architectural and historical features, and have done so several times within the topic of a photography challenge. (click on the image to enlarge)

collage

Top right: Dinham Bridge, Ludlow;
Metal bridges: Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco, USA; Jackfield Bridge, Shropshire, England; Sydney Harbour Bridge, Sydney, Australia; Burrard Street Bridge, Vancouver, Canada;
Bottom Left: Ironbridge, Shropshire, England
Wooden/stone bridges: Wooden Bridge, Clun, Shropshire, England; Gallox Bridge, Somerset, England; Albany Covered Bridge, New Hampshire, USA; Packhorse Bridge, Clun, Shropshire, England

Header: Rope Bridge in the Lost Gardens of Heligan, Cornwall, England

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

52 thoughts on “Lingering Look at Architecture: Bridges”

      1. Would you believe I had to Google Paul Sauer and when the mighty structure loomed on screen I realised you were talking about the Storms River Bridge. I bunji jumped off it’s smaller cousin the Gouritz River Bridge for my 40th. Paul Sauer was was too daunting 🙂

        1. Ah, I should have said Storm River. It is a lovely bridge. Not that I’d bungee jump from it or any other bridge…

  1. Good bridges Jude, and it is nice to see some stone ones featured too. My own favourite bridge is Tower Bridge, for obvious reasons of heritage, but I can always enjoy a photo of a bridge anywhere.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

  2. Please don’t call that one in the Lost Gardens of Heligan a ‘bridge.’ It’s a lovely photo, but it can’t possibly be made to walk across. It could be considered a torture device, or a horrid threat to someone you dislike, or a way to have devilish fun at people with balance issues. But a bridge? No.

    1. Haha, I think plenty of people agree with you, but bridge it is, as it meets the definition “spanning a chasm”. I did see a few people crossing, but it did not look an easy task!

  3. I like the stone bridges best, but they are all attractive. Like just about everyone else commenting, I doubt you would get me on the rope bridge, but I’ve done the Sydney Harbour Bridge climb.

  4. Hi Jude, glad to meet another ‘bridgeophile’ 😉 I always loved Brunel’s bridge near Bristol. As for our Sydney Harbour Bridge, nice of you to include the other ‘icon’ – the Opera House 🙂

  5. You could publish coffee-table books of your super shots on just about any topic that comes to mind, I sometimes think, Jude ! – and all capture and hold the eye and the imagination. Yer good, alright !

  6. It’s effective in a collage, Jude, but I don’t really like this format because I can’t get individual close ups 🙂 If it wasn’t 29th May I’d be tempted to join Dawn on this too. Have you scheduled posts for while you are away? I have a Bench to squeeze in tomorrow (well, it will still be May, but I don’t know if it’s fair posting it while you’re away?)
    Happy hunting, sweetheart. It’s bucketing down here. Can only get better 🙂

    1. You can click on the collage and view it larger, but I know what you mean. Sun just coming out here and I am almost ready to set off. Please post your bench. I should have some WiFi the first week, but none the second.

  7. Well, I know a couple of these Jude – Golden Gate and Burrard Street, Vancouver – but where is Gallox Bridge in Somerset? I live here and have on idea, ha! All lovely photos, bridges make for a great study (like benches 😉 ) Absolutely love those covered bridges in New England. Now that’s a place I hope to explore properly one of these days…*and so she dreams* 🙂

      1. Ahh…yes, we’ve been to Dunster a few times, love it there as you know! Thanks for letting me know, just proves how little attention I give to things like names of bridges. But now I will pay better attention thanks to you 🙂 xx

  8. What a variety of bridges, all lovely in their different architecture. My eye was drawn to the Golden Gate bridge, probably because it’s the only one I’ve seen in person (we cycled over it into Sausolito and back again). I don’t think I could cross the rope bridge though, looks a little precarious!

  9. Oh Jude – so many beautiful choices! … but my favourite is the top right one. Would that be an ancient Roman bridge – or just in the style? Maybe more the one beside it on the left.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

