Kynance Cove and Beach

Kynance beach is probably one of the most beautiful in Cornwall set in an area of outstanding natural beauty AONB. In fact I have seen it voted as being one of the most beautiful in the world. It is certainly one of the most remote as it is practically at the end of the Lizard peninsula (the Lizard is Britain’s most southerly mainland point) and it is not a beach that you can drive up to. Oh no, getting there involves a short (10 – 15 mins green route) hike down a fairly steep narrow trail , littered with loose rocks and steep steps at the end, or a longer, winding (20 – 30 mins red route) stroll along an uneven track with exposed bedrock and slightly loose stone surface which brings you out at the back of the cove near the toilets and tea-room. We opted for the longer route suitable for wheelchairs and pushchairs without any steps.

P1190768

The trail winds itself down the cliffs to the beach passing through swathes of golden gorse and outcrops of rocks, some covered in the deep egg-yolk yellow lichens. The views over the bay are stunning.

P1190774

At low tide the white sands are revealed contrasting with the dark green and red serpentine rocks and the incredibly clear turquoise water. It is probably the most photographed and painted spot in the county. You can explore the towering rocks stacks and the caves with names such as The Parlour and The Drawing Room.

P1190819

There is an excellent tea-room serving pasties and cream teas as well as sandwiches, drinks and beach stuff. We stopped for coffee and a cream tea and sat mesmerised by the colour of the sea whilst chaffinches hopped around our feet. I felt as though I had stepped back to New Zealand for a while.

From Kynance there is a fantastic 2 mile scenic walk around the coast to Lizard Point, but as the OH is not a cliff-top walker we drove there instead. I’ll show you what that looks like in another post 🙂

If you enjoy a walk, long or short, then have a look at Jo’s site where you are welcome to join in.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

40 thoughts on “Kynance Cove and Beach”

  1. Oh, wow….I am flooded by waves of nostalgia (the gorse on the path did it) – years, and years since I have been there. Thanks for the walk….

  2. Jude, I’m in love with this walk! I want to go there. Superb photos! I love those little runnels in the sand and the rocks too (you had me ogling yellow lichen at our beach the other day 😦 ) Truly glorious! Maybe I don’t need to go as far as the Cook Islands, after all? Thank you so much for the share 🙂

  3. You’re the one who needs to watch her footing! Amazing water patterns and rocks and cliffs and “paths through golden gorse”, and rock colours. I want more.

    You have to go and live in Cornwell – for all our sakes!

    1. I thought you might enjoy the water patterns and the sand patterns. By the time I go and live there I will have photographed most of it! No seriously, there are several more posts to come and then we are back there in a couple of weeks!

  4. Mesmerizing views. You mentioned this place made you think of New Zealand. After a few pictures I thought of Robinson Crusoe. Sunning pictures and lots and lots. Thanks for the tour. I enjoyed it immensely, Jude. 😀 ❤

    1. I’d like to do the cliff-top walks, but the OH suffers from vertigo so unless I do them on my own they are not really viable. I have been here before but this time I checked the tide time-table 😉

  5. This looks amazing Jude. I was mesmerized with the winding path and then when you go to the beach and rocks wowza! Snacks and refreshments too? I’ll be right there.

  6. Oh Jude, what an absolutely beautiful place, thank you so much for telling us about it, I know for sure where I’m going this summer, rain or shine, but hopefully we will be blessed with the gorgeous weather you had. I have to go here, for the walk and the scenery. I had no ideait even existed…I love how you find such amazing places. And your photos as always, are stunning 🙂 xx

    1. It is a part of this country that makes me feel right at home, and reminds me very much of Cape Town and even parts of the Antipodes.

  7. That azure blue sky is stunning and the turquoise of the water is a beautiful colour. A perfect day for a walk along the coast and then to have a delightful tea shop at the end of the walk my kind of heaven Jude…

    1. I shall try and get you photos of Cape Cornwall (there is one and we are staying very close to it next month) hopefully with a decent sunset!

  8. What a beautiful coastline! The turquoise water and the beach is stunning. What a great area for a walk:) Lovely photos.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

