Travel Theme: Hats

hats

I looked for a boater in my Cambridge, Oxford and even Venice photos, but not one! So here are some hats for sale in a darling little courtyard in Franschhoek, South Africa. And if you haven’t been there then you are missing a real treat.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

35 thoughts on “Travel Theme: Hats”

  1. I could have managed a Russian furry hat if I was in this, but that’s about all. Oh, and the hats on the guards outside the Vatican. Your SA hats are unusual though, and more colourful.
    Regards as always, Pete.

  2. That’s a nice take on the challenge, Jude. I love hats, used to wear them a lot before, now I mostly stick to my all weather hat as I don’t like umbrellas.
    Wishing you a sunny weekend,
    Dina & co

    1. A little challenging for a photographer who rarely photographs people!! I just happened to like this colourful display, but it was a very blurred photo, hence the processing 🙂

    1. I am not a hat person Gilly. It has to be VERY cold for me to stick a beany on my head, though I did succumb to a sunhat in Aus as it was very hot.

        1. Is that the History walk? If so I have seen it. Seems to be nothing on TV at the moment except repeats and reality shows and it’s not even summer yet! Listening to BB KIng CD instead 🙂

        2. I have the CD with Eric Clapton – Riding with the King and it is brilliant if you like blues music. Sad to hear of BB’s death but he had a long life.

  3. You’ve transformed those hats into something else entirely. Beautiful. You’d never know you started with a blurry photo. I don’t have many hat photos either (except of myself in my red beret, caught in reflection) because they usually require a person under them. You’ve avoided that nicely.

    1. This photo almost got chucked into the recycle bin, but it was the only one I had of the hats and I quite liked the wrought-iron stand they were on, plus the colours. A bit of arty-farty and voilà, a useful image.

    1. Short answer Sue – NO! Do you? I don’t recall any photos of you wearing one.

      But I am pleased you like what I did to the image.

      1. I wear a helmet when riding and a ball cap when running just to sip up the sweat which I am famous for. I don’t think that’s likely much in the line of fashion. 🙂

    1. Hah! I have a small head, but big hair! Although I have recently had my hair cut very short so not so big now 😉
      And no, I am not a hat person unless it is very, very cold (I get earache easily) or very, very hot! I have typical Celtic fair skin that burns.

      1. Oh well, at least big hair can be flattened, Jude! In my case, even a large hat doesn’t fit me. It sits precariously at the tippy top of my head, looking very foolish indeed!! I do wear wool caps in winter though, now that you mention it. At least they stretch. 🙂

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

