Bench series #19

For the month of May I’m looking for benches at the beach

Noordhoek Beach Cape Town
Noordhoek Beach, Cape Town, South Africa – looking south to Kommetjie and Slangkop Lighthouse

If you would like to join in with the Bench photo challenge then please take a look at my Bench Series page. No complicated rules, just a bench and a camera required 🙂

  • Create your own post and title it Bench Series: May
  • Include a link to this page in your post so others can find it too
  • Add the tag ‘bench series’ so everyone can find the benches easily in the WP Reader
  • Get your post in by the end of the month, as the new bench theme comes out on the first Sunday in June.

My Picks of the Week:

Pauline has a couple of bench posts this week. One close to home and several others in ‘The Giant’s House’ in New Zealand. 
Sylvia meanwhile is having a ‘lazy sunny afternoon‘ complete with the Kinks for those of you old enough to remember them.
Cathy  is ‘on the beach‘ with her view of an Hawaiin beach, but sadly gladly Cliff Richard doesn’t join us.
Whilst poor Tgeriatrix has caught the bug and sees benches everywhere she goes with two offerings from the north   coast of Belgium.
Gilly provides us with a bench from which to admire a west country sunset.

And although no beach in sight, Carol has some wonderful tulips to share. But beware there is yet another video clip attached to the post that you may wish to avoid. Just saying…

Thanks to all for showing me your wonderful beaches around the world.

Published by

Heyjude

I now live back in the UK, but spent several years travelling the world and then living in South Africa. I look forward to a long and leisurely retirement doing what I like most - gardening, photography, walking and travelling.

60 thoughts on “Bench series #19”

    1. This bench overlooks the long beach on the Atlantic side of the Cape Peninsula, at the far end of Chapmans Peak drive. The one that I believe you are thinking of is on the False Bay side – my favourite beach 🙂

  1. Many benches and views to admire here Jude. I am very taken with the blue and white bench in Oostende, which strikes me as very ‘seaside’.
    Regards as always, Pete. x

    1. It is a fabulous beach. I remember taking the kids there when they were small and seeing people horse-riding along this beach. The water is freezing though!

  2. Well I thought the last bench was where I wanted to sit endlessly. No it’s this bench. Again a gorgeous perspective. I can feel the wind in my face.

    1. The beauty about this bench is that it is at the end of the most incredibly beautiful drive on the edge of the table mountain range. I am sure you would LOVE to cycle over it 😉

        1. Just imagine the delight you’d experience as you finish the downhill section of the road and reach this bench where you could relax and admire that view.

      1. I did 🙂 And yes, the view is something else although the recent fires have destroyed a lot of vegetation behind where you were standing when you took the photo. But it’s starting to grow back now. People still ride horses along this windswept stretch of beach and it’s time for those blazing red winter sunsets across the ocean from Chapmans Peak side. I shall think of you next time I drive by xxx

        1. I always lived at the other side of the mountains so the sun disappeared long before it set. Although lacking in mountains, the western tip of Cornwall reminds me of the peninsula. Perhaps why I am drawn to that area.

  3. I had to enlarge and peer hard to see that lighthouse then I just slumped on your bench 🙂 Still a bit of a hike to dip my toes in the water so I think I’ll rest awhile. Lovely, Jude!

    1. Well I think you saw the top of it on my Cape Town post, but I have remembered another absolutely fantastic lighthouse (from Portugal) that I must find an excuse to post for you.

        1. I know that feeling and then in a week’s time it will feel like you haven’t been away at all! Took me a while to even be bothered about writing a post once I got back this time.

        2. I always have a post tumbling out of my head but the thought of all the responses and what to do about the dreaded Inbox??? I deleted lots before this trip but… 🙂

        3. I usually answer comments via the notification menu so generally just delete the emails. I suppose it is a lot easier if you only do one post a week (or don’t have many followers 😉 ), but you do get a LOT of comments 😎

        4. The comments I can handle and I love that part but I get emails for ‘likes’ and try to keep track of my visitors and especially newbies. I’m not sure why. It seemed like a good idea when I started out. Windswept on the cliffs at Staithes today. Have you been there? 🙂

        5. Had a lovely mug of hot chocolate and a toasted crumpet in a café in Staithes after walking there along the beach from Runswick Bay – and it started snowing!! (Easter holidays). Walked back along the cliff and it was pretty windy then I recall – this is going back 20 years! A very pretty village then.

Likes are nice, but comments start a conversation...

